no image available
Added by 2 of our members

The Complete Poems

A collection of poems by

The definitive volume of Lewis's poetry, combining the only four known, narrative poems of his creation in existence, together with his other poetic works -- all displaying the characteristic Lewis intimacy, sature, irony, warmth and wisdom. The novels and stories of C.S. Lewis for children continue to enchant each new generation - now lovers of C.S. Lewis can now be enthralled by his imaginative power and mastery of language in its purest form. Dymer (1926) * Launcelot (?early 1930s) * The Nameless Isle (1930) * The Queen of Drum (1938) 'Dymer' was begun by Lewis as a story in prose and the original idea had 'come to him' at the age of 17. It tells the story of a man who begets a monster. The monster kills his father and becomes a god. 'Launcelot' is based on the legend of King Arthur and the Holy Grail and 'The Nameless Isle' is the story of a shipwrecked mariner and his adventures on a magic island. 'The Queen of Drum' tells of an old pompous king and his young queen who eventually has to choose between heaven, hell and fairyland. Also featured in this essential volume is a collection of Lewis's other poems - all containing a rich variety of styles and moods - emotional, classical, mystical; but always clear-headed and full of wisdom.

Genre: Science Fiction

Used availability for C S Lewis's The Complete Poems

Paperback Editions

March 2006 : UK Paperback

Title: The Complete Poems
Author(s): C S Lewis
ISBN: 0-00-715706-1 / 978-0-00-715706-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Entertainment
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK