C S Lewis's picture

C S Lewis

(Clive Staples Lewis)
Ireland (1898 - 1963)

aka N W Clerk, Clive Hamilton

C.S. Lewis was an author, essayist and Christian apologist. He is best known for his childrens classic series The Chronicles of Narnia.

Clive Staples Lewis was born on 29 November 1898 and lived until 22 November 1963. He was born in Belfast, North Ireland into a protestant Ulster family. Throughout his life he retained strong roots to Ireland. He sought out the company of the Irish took an active interest in Celtic literature and myths. He was a keen admirer of the works of W.B.Yeats, at a time when he was relatively unknown in England.

C.S.Lewis died a few years later in 1963 from renal failure. His death occurred on same date as the assassination of J.F. Kennedy.

Since his death, his books and influence have continued to grow. He has been rated as one of the top English writers of all time and his books have been translated into numerous languages.

Genres: Young Adult Fantasy, Science Fiction, Inspirational, Literary Fiction
   1. Out of the Silent Planet (1938)
   2. Perelandra (1943)
     aka Voyage to Venus
   3. That Hideous Strength (1945)
     aka The Tortured Planet
   Spirits in Bondage (1919) (as by Clive Hamilton)
   Dymer (poems) (1926) (as by Clive Hamilton)
   Poems (poems) (1964)
   Of Other Worlds (1966)
   The Dark Tower (1977)
   Of This and Other Worlds (1982)
   Boxen (1985) (with W H Lewis)
   The Complete Poems (poems) (2006)
thumbthumbthumbno image available
Non fiction
Sorry, we're not listing non fiction by this author
Anthologies containing stories by C S Lewis
Short stories
The Adventures of Eustace (1952)
The Dark Island [from The Voyage of the Dawn Treader] (1952)
Ministering Angels (1955)
The Shoddy Lands (1956)

Carnegie Medal Best Book winner (1957) : The Last Battle

C S Lewis recommends
Childhood's End (1953)
Arthur C Clarke
"There has been nothing like it for years...an author who understands there may be things that have a higher claim on humanity than its own 'survival'."
The Worm Ouroboros (1922)
E R Eddison
"It is very rarely that a middle-aged man finds an author who gives him the sense of having opened a door on wonder. One had thought those days were past. Eddison's heroic romances disproved it. In a word, his books are works, first and foremost, of art."
The Wood Beyond the World (1894)
William Morris
"No mountains in literature are as far away as the distant mountains of Morris."

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors