book cover of The Candidate\'s Daughter

The Candidate's Daughter

(2013)
(The first book in the Elizabeth McClaine Thriller series)
A novel by

 
 
The plan is simple: kidnap the daughter of Senate candidate Richard McClaine, take the money and run. Nobody gets hurt, the kid goes home alive.

Twenty-two-year-old car thief Kelsey Money thinks it's the worst idea Matt and his drug-fueled brother have ever come up with. But Matt's the planner. He's the one Kelsey has always depended on.

Then, she discovers she only knew half the plan. By the time she finds out the rest, she's been framed for murder, and six-year-old Holly McClaine won't be found alive.

Across town, Elizabeth McClaine has no idea what her daughter was wearing when she disappeared. When Holly was born with Down syndrome and a cleft palate, Elizabeth placed her only child in the care of a nanny while she fought postpartum depression.

But when Holly is kidnapped and Elizabeth discovers the detective leading the hunt has already failed one kidnapped child, Elizabeth knows she cannot fail hers.

Now, both women have 24 hours to find Holly. Because in 25, she'll be dead.

The Candidate's Daughter and its sequel Child of the State are additions to the great action and character-driven mystery thrillers in the tradition of J.D. Robb, Faye Kellerman, and Mary Clark Higgins.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Death Toll
J H Bogrn, Stephen Edger, Stephen Leather, Howard Manson, Liam Saville and Alex Shaw
thumb
3 Great Novels
(Dave Robicheaux Omnibus)
James Lee Burke
thumb
The Player
(Carter Ross Mystery, book 5)
Brad Parks
thumb
The Big Chihuahua
(Barking Detective Mysteries, book 3)
Waverly Curtis

Used availability for Catherine Lea's The Candidate's Daughter

Paperback Editions

September 2013 : New Zealand Paperback
thumb

Title: The Candidate's Daughter (An Elizabeth McClaine Thriller)
Author(s): Catherine Lea
ISBN: 0-473-26175-8 / 978-0-473-26175-7 (New Zealand edition)
Publisher: Brakelight Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Candidate's Daughter: An Elizabeth McClaine Thriller, Book 1
Author(s): Catherine Lea
Publisher: ListenUp Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   


April 2016 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Candidate's Daughter: An Elizabeth McClaine Thriller, Book 1
Author(s): Catherine Lea
Publisher: ListenUp Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Candidate's Daughter: An Elizabeth McClaine Thriller, Book 1
Author(s): Catherine Lea
Publisher: ListenUp Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Candidate's Daughter: An Elizabeth McClaine Thriller, Book 1
Author(s): Catherine Lea
Publisher: ListenUp Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2014 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Candidate's Daughter: A Gripping Thriller (An Elizabeth McClaine Thriller Book 1)
Author(s): Catherine Lea
Publisher: Brakelight Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU