book cover of Hostile Shores
Added by 1 of our members

Hostile Shores

(2013)
(Book 19 in the Alan Lewrie series)
A novel by

 
 
In 1805, with news of Admiral Nelson's death fresh on his mind, Captain Lewrie's HMS Reliant joins up in the voyage that will culminate in the Battle of Cape Town, in which the British wrested control of South Africa from the Dutch. In the wake of that victory, Lewrie heads west to South America, where Britain's attacks on Buenos Aires and other Spanish colonies have not been faring as well. But the worst is yet to come, and soon Lewrie will be facing a battle at sea that will put his naval career and life at risk.

Dewey Lambdin has been roundly praised as one of the best living novelists writing in the vein of Patrick O'Brian and C. S. Forester. In Hostile Shores he returns with an exciting, battle-heavy tale of life in the King's Navy, starring the rough-edged hero Captain Alan Lewrie.

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors

thumb
In Northern Seas
(Alexander Clay, book 7)
Philip K Allan

Used availability for Dewey Lambdin's Hostile Shores

Hardback Editions

February 2013 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Hostile Shores: An Alan Lewrie Naval Adventure (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures)
Author(s): Dewey Lambdin
ISBN: 0-312-59572-7 / 978-0-312-59572-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

February 2014 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: HOSTILE SHORES (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures)
Author(s): DEWEY LAMBDIN
ISBN: 1-250-04252-6 / 978-1-250-04252-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Griffin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

February 2020 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Hostile Shores (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures Book 19)
Author(s): Dewey Lambdin
Publisher: Canelo Adventure
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2013 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Hostile Shores: An Alan Lewrie Naval Adventure (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures Book 19)
Author(s): Dewey Lambdin
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA