book cover of Kings and Emperors
Added by 5 of our members

Kings and Emperors

(2015)
(Book 21 in the Alan Lewrie series)
A novel by

 
 

Life for Lewrie is frustratingly quiet, but that won't last long...

1807. Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, is still in Gibraltar, his schemes for raids along the coast of Southern Spain shot to a halt. He is reduced to commanding a clutch of harbour defence gunboats in the bay while his ship, HMS Sapphire, slowly grounds herself on a reef of beef bones.

But Napoleon Bonaparte’s invasion of peaceful Portugal and his so-called collaborative march into Spain change everything, freeing Sapphire to roam against the King’s enemies once more!

As kings are overthrown and popular uprisings break out all across Spain, Lewrie’s right back in the action, ferrying weapons to arm Spanish patriots, scouting within close gun range of the impregnable fort of Ceuta, escorting the advance units of British expeditionary armies to aid the Spanish, and even going ashore to witness the first battles between Sir Arthur Wellesley, later the Duke of Wellington, and Napoleon’s best Marshals, as the long Peninsular War that broke Imperial France begins to unfold.

From Cadiz to La Coruna, Lewrie and Sapphire will be there as history explodes!

Number twenty-one in the Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures, Kings and Emperors is perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Julian Stockwin and C.S. Forester.

Praise for Dewey Lambdin

'Great naval action and deep historical detail in the vein of O'Brian and Forester' Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

'You could get addicted to this series. Easily.' New York Times Book Review

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Dewey Lambdin's Kings and Emperors

Hardback Editions

February 2015 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Kings and Emperors: An Alan Lewrie Naval Adventure (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures)
Author(s): Dewey Lambdin
ISBN: 1-250-03006-4 / 978-1-250-03006-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Kings and Emperors: An Alan Lewrie Naval Adventure (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures, 21)
Author(s): Dewey Lambdin
ISBN: 1-250-08106-8 / 978-1-250-08106-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2021 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Kings and Emperors
Author(s): Dewey Lambdin
Publisher: Tantor and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


March 2021 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Kings and Emperors
Author(s): Dewey Lambdin
Publisher: Tantor and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


June 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Kings and Emperors Lib/E
Author(s): Dewey Lambdin
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


June 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Kings and Emperors: An Alan Lewrie Naval Adventure, Book 21
Author(s): Dewey Lambdin
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Kings and Emperors: An Alan Lewrie Naval Adventure, Book 21
Author(s): Dewey Lambdin
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

October 2020 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Kings and Emperors (The Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures Book 21)
Author(s): Dewey Lambdin
Publisher: Canelo Adventure
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2015 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Kings and Emperors: An Alan Lewrie Naval Adventure (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures Book 21)
Author(s): Dewey Lambdin
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA