book cover of The Girl from Poor House Lane

The Girl from Poor House Lane

(2004)
(A book in the Poor House Lane series)
A novel by

 
 

What lengths will a mother go to in order to protect her son? The first in the historical Poor House Lane sagas

The slums of Poor House Lane are no place to bring up a child, and Kate O'Connor struggles to make ends meet when her beloved husband is killed, leaving her a single mother with a baby to support on the meagre hand-outs she gleans from charity. So when the childless Tysons, owners of Kendal's shoe factory, offer to adopt her son, Callum, and employ Kate as his nanny, she seizes the chance to ensure he has a better life.

To be so close to her son, yet no longer be his mother, is bittersweet. But Kate is not prepared for the jealousy the new arrangement provokes in Eliot Tyson's brother, Charles, who sees Callum as a direct threat to his inheritance...

The first heart-rending instalment of The Poor House Lane Sagas are perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Dilly Court



Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Summer Maiden
(River Maid, book 2)
Dilly Court
thumb
The Christmas Rose
(River Maid, book 3)
Dilly Court
thumb
Cinnamon Gardens
(Peppercorn, book 2)
Anna Jacobs

Used availability for Freda Lightfoot's The Girl from Poor House Lane

Hardback Editions

October 2004 : UK Hardback

Title: The Girl from Poor House Lane
Author(s): Freda Lightfoot
ISBN: 0-7505-2253-4 / 978-0-7505-2253-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Magna Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2004 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Girl From Poor House Lane
Author(s): Freda Lightfoot
ISBN: 0-340-82998-2 / 978-0-340-82998-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2004 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Girl From Poor House Lane
Author(s): Freda Lightfoot
ISBN: 0-340-82999-0 / 978-0-340-82999-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Coronet
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

December 2004 : UK Audio Cassette
thumb

Title: The Girl from Poor House Lane
Author(s): Freda Lightfoot
ISBN: 1-85903-777-1 / 978-1-85903-777-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Magna Story Sound
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


December 2004 : UK Audio CD

Title: The Girl from Poor House Lane
Author(s): Freda Lightfoot
ISBN: 1-85903-795-X / 978-1-85903-795-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Magna Story Sound
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

October 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Girl From Poor House Lane (Poor House Lane Sagas Book 1)
Author(s): Freda Lightfoot
Publisher: Canelo Saga
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU