book cover of The First Three Novels

The First Three Novels

(A book in the Smiley series)
An omnibus of novels by

Spy who came in from the cold, a murder of quality and call for the dead 3 books collection set by john le carre. Description:- The Spy Who Came in from the Cold Alex Leamas is tired. It's the 1960s, he's been out in the cold for years, spying in the shadow of the Berlin Wall for his British masters. He has seen too many good agents murdered for their troubles. Now Control wants to bring him in at last - but only after one final assignment. He must travel deep into the heart of Communist Germany and betray his country, a job that he will do with his usual cynical professionalism. A Murder of Quality A murder mystery in the finest tradition of English detective novels, John le Carre's A Murder of Quality is an ingenious puzzle featuring his best-loved character George Smiley. Stella Rode has twice disturbed the ancient cloisters of Carne School: firstly by being the wrong sort, with her doilies and china ducks, and secondly by being murdered. George Smiley, who has his own connection with the school, is asked by an old Service friend to investigate. Call for the Dead After a routine security check by George Smiley, civil servant Samuel Fennan apparently kills himself. When Smiley finds Circus head Maston is trying to blame him for the man's death, he begins his own investigation, meeting with Fennan's widow to find out what could have led him to such desperation. But on the very day that Smiley is ordered off the enquiry he receives an urgent letter from the dead man.

Genre: Thriller

Used availability for John Le Carre's The First Three Novels

Hardback Editions

November 2014 : USA Hardback

Title: The First Three Novels
Author(s): John le Carre
ISBN: 1-63286-196-8 / 978-1-63286-196-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Paperback Editions

2018 : Paperback

Title: Spy who came in from the cold, a murder of quality and call for the dead 3 books collection set by john le carre
Author(s): John le Carre
ISBN: 9123674776 / 978-9123674770
Publisher: Penguin Classics
Availability: Amazon UK