book cover of The Voyage That Never Ends

The Voyage That Never Ends

A collection of stories by

A portrait in his own words of one of the twentieth-century's most original and tragic writers, The Voyage that Never Ends is the first collection to draw on the whole range of Malcolm Lowry's work above and beyond his masterpiece Under the Volcano. When Lowry died at the age of 48--in the coroner's words, "of misadventure"--he left a great deal of extraordinary work that had remained uncollected or unpublished in the course of a life driven equally by a passion for writing and addiction to alcohol--stories, novellas, half-finished novels, including significant portions of the long-contemplated epic tale of suffering and redemption that was to follow Under the Volcano's unsparing account of a modern hell. This material, scattered among various volumes, some of them scholarly editions of limited availability and many of them out of print for years, is here drawn on by the British poet and critic Michael Hofmann to present an unequalled picture of Lowry's range and achievement. Including the idyllic story "The Forest Path to the Spring," the brilliantly experimental "Through the Panama," and augmented by Lowry's letters and poems, The Voyage that Never Ends introduces readers to a new Malcolm Lowry, a great and doomed writer who, like Jack Kerouac and Sylvia Plath, staked everything on his art.

Genre: General Fiction

Similar books by other authors

Used availability for Malcolm Lowry's The Voyage That Never Ends

Hardback Editions

August 2007 : USA Hardback

Title: The Voyage That Never Ends: Fictions, Poems, Fragments, Letters
Author(s): Malcolm Lowry
ISBN: 1-59017-235-3 / 978-1-59017-235-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: NYRB Classics
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA