book cover of The Roxy Letters

The Roxy Letters

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
Meet Roxy. For fans of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and Bridget Jones’s Diary comes “just the kind of comic novel we need right now” (The Washington Post) about an Austin artist trying to figure out her life one letter to her ex-boyfriend at a time.

Bridget Jones penned a diary; Roxy writes letters. Specifically: she writes letters to her hapless, rent-avoidant ex-boyfriend—and current roommate—Everett. This charming and funny twenty-something is under-employed (and under-romanced), and she’s decidedly fed up with the indignities she endures as a deli maid at Whole Foods (the original), and the dismaying speed at which her beloved Austin is becoming corporatized. When a new Lululemon pops up at the intersection of Sixth and Lamar where the old Waterloo Video used to be, Roxy can stay silent no longer.

As her letters to Everett become less about overdue rent and more about the state of her life, Roxy realizes she’s ready to be the heroine of her own story. She decides to team up with her two best friends to save Austin—and rescue Roxy’s love life—in whatever way they can. But can this spunky, unforgettable millennial keep Austin weird, avoid arrest, and find romance—and even creative inspiration—in the process?

Genre: General Fiction

Praise for this book

"The breezy, charming, laugh-out-loud-funny voice of this book belies the strong bones of plot, character development, place and theme that lie beneath. Part love goddess, part urban warrior, part best-friend-you-wish-you-had, Roxy takes Austin by storm. You will fall in love with her." - Francesca Lia Block

"Roxy and Mary Pauline Lowry are keeping Austin weird and wacky in The Roxy Letters. If you’ve ever shaken your fist at gentrification, been in a creative rut, had a wild best friend, or wondered where the hell your Prince Charming is, this peppy, confident, rollicking ride is for you!" - Georgia Clark

"Mary Pauline Lowry’s THE ROXY LETTERS is too smart and clever to be called a romp, but whatever, it’s a total romp. I fell in love with Roxy, our hilarious, flawed, screwball narrator, and her quest to find herself in the muck of her twenties. Fun as heck." - Annie Hartnett

"Bawdy, frank and laugh-out-loud funny, The Roxy Letters brings to antic life all the hilarity and peppy horrors of being rootless and questing in your twenties." - Julia Claiborne Johnson

"THE ROXY LETTERS is bursting with originality, quirky wit, and delightful charm. This rollercoaster of a story is snappy, heartwarming, raunchy, and absurdly enjoyable. Roxy is an unforgettable narrator, and seeing Austin through her eyes is a real treat." - Hannah Orenstein

"Roxy's life, from its wildly risqué escapades to its numerous crises du jour, is a total blast. Lowry's debut is the racy, funny page-turner we could use in these times." - J Ryan Stradal

"Tom Robbins meets Bridget Jones' Diary, eccentric, fun, delicious, for the thinking woman who loves her vagina." - Rufi Thorpe

"The enormously talented Mary Pauline Lowry has given us a wonderful and compelling contradiction, a novel at once wicked and extravagant and vulnerable and pure. For comedy, for sheer joyous energy and deadly charm, you cannot do better than The Roxy Letters." - Brady Udall

"Naughty, effervescent fun. A novel abounding in dauschunds, tweakers, real fulfillment centers, aisles of strange beer, and shrines to Venus (they work!). Roxy rocks Austin. And rights the world." - Joy Williams


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Mary Pauline Lowry's The Roxy Letters

Hardback Editions

April 2020 : Hardback
thumb

Title: The Roxy Letters
Author(s): Mary Pauline Lowry
ISBN: 1-982121-43-2 / 978-1-982121-43-3
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Roxy Letters: A Novel
Author(s): Mary Pauline Lowry
ISBN: 1-982121-44-0 / 978-1-982121-44-0
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2020 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Roxy Letters: A Novel
Author(s): Mary Pauline Lowry
ISBN: 1-982143-16-9 / 978-1-982143-16-9
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2020 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Roxy Letters: A Novel
Author(s): Mary Pauline Lowry
ISBN: 1-982145-61-7 / 978-1-982145-61-3
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

April 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Roxy Letters
Author(s): Mary Pauline Lowry
ISBN: 1-79710-128-5 / 978-1-79710-128-6
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Roxy Letters
Author(s): Mary Pauline Lowry
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Roxy Letters
Author(s): Mary Pauline Lowry
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Roxy Letters
Author(s): Mary Pauline Lowry
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Roxy Letters
Author(s): Mary Pauline Lowry
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Roxy Letters: A Novel
Author(s): Mary Pauline Lowry
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2020 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Roxy Letters: A Novel
Author(s): Mary Pauline Lowry
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon UK