book cover of The Kew Gardens Girls
Added by 14 of our members

The Kew Gardens Girls

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
A heart-warming novel inspired by real life events, about the brave women during WWI who worked in the historic grounds of London's Kew Gardens.

Can the women of Kew keep the gardens alive in the midst of war?

London, 1916. England is at war. Desperate to help in whatever way they can, Ivy and Louisa enlist as gardeners at Kew, the Royal Botanic Gardens, taking on the jobs of the men who have gone to fight. Under their care, the gardens begin to flourish and become a safe haven for those seeking solace--but not everyone wants women working at Kew.

The pair begin to face challenges on the home front. When a tragedy overseas affects the people closest to them, can the women of Kew pull together to support themselves and their country through the darkest of times?

Genre: Sagas

Praise for this book

"Utterly charming, The Kew Garden Girls, set in World War I London to the backdrop of the women's suffrage movement, is a tumbling bouquet of detail and dialogue that immediately transports the reader to one of the most famous city gardens in the world, a century in the past. Inspired by real events, Posy Lovell deftly explores issues of friendship, loss, class, equality, and freedom, weaving those serious topics into a beautiful story of women in wartime who find solace and meaning in tending the plants of Kew Gardens, coaxing new life from the soil even as they struggle to hold their own lives together. I'll never look at the sprawling, brilliant Kew Gardens—one of London's top tourist attractions and a World Heritage Site—the same way again." - Kristin Harmel

"The Kew Gardens Girls is a delightful story about women from very different backgrounds who end up working together at London’s Kew Gardens during WWI, taking on the jobs of the men who have gone to war. The ‘Girls’ form fast friendships and something like a surrogate family. With beautifully well-drawn characters that you root for from the beginning, and interesting historical details about both the Suffragette movement and Kew Gardens during WWI, this is a poignant, heartwarming read that I highly recommend!" - Jane Healey

"An absolutely charming story about the strength and beauty of female friendship. The Kew Gardens Girls blossom from the pages as WWI changes their lives and they face the challenges of being the first women to work in the famous Kew Gardens. I loved the way Ivy, Louisa and Win reveled in the many adventures they encountered and supported one another through the turmoil of wartime life. Settle into the story and be swept away!" - Natasha Lester


Used availability for Posy Lovell's The Kew Gardens Girls

Hardback Editions

May 2020 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Kew Gardens Girls: An emotional and sweeping historical novel perfect for fans of Kate Morton
Author(s): Posy Lovell
ISBN: 1-4091-9327-6 / 978-1-4091-9327-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Trapeze
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Kew Gardens Girls: An emotional and sweeping historical novel perfect for fans of Kate Morton
Author(s): Posy Lovell
ISBN: 1-4091-9328-4 / 978-1-4091-9328-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Trapeze
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2021 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Kew Gardens Girls
Author(s): Posy Lovell
ISBN: 0-593-32823-X / 978-0-593-32823-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

April 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Kew Gardens Girls
Author(s): Posy Lovell
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Kew Gardens Girls
Author(s): Posy Lovell
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Kew Gardens Girls
Author(s): Posy Lovell
Publisher: Trapeze
Availability: Amazon   


May 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Kew Gardens Girls
Author(s): Posy Lovell
Publisher: Trapeze
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Kew Gardens Girls
Author(s): Posy Lovell
Publisher: Trapeze
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2021 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Kew Gardens Girls
Author(s): Posy Lovell
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


May 2020 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Kew Gardens Girls: An emotional and sweeping historical novel perfect for fans of Kate Morton
Author(s): Posy Lovell
Publisher: Trapeze
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU