book cover of The Other Wind
Added by 86 members

The Other Wind

(The sixth book in the Earthsea series)
A novel by

2002 Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel (nominee)
2002 Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature (nominee)
2002 Nebula Award for Best Novel (nominee)
2002 World Fantasy Award for Best Novel
2001 Nebula Award for Best Novel (nominee)

The sorcerer Alder fears sleep. He dreams of the land of death, of his wife who died young and longs to return to him so much that she kissed him across the low stone wall that separates our world from the Dry Land-where the grass is withered, the stars never move, and lovers pass without knowing each other. The dead are pulling Alder to them at night. Through him they may free themselves and invade Earthsea.

Alder seeks advice from Ged, once Archmage. Ged tells him to go to Tenar, Tehanu, and the young king at Havnor. They are joined by amber-eyed Irian, a fierce dragon able to assume the shape of a woman.

The threat can be confronted only in the Immanent Grove on Roke, the holiest place in the world and there the king, hero, sage, wizard, and dragon make a last stand.

Le Guin combines her magical fantasy with a profoundly human, earthly, humble touch. Map

Genre: Fantasy

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for Ursula K Le Guin's The Other Wind

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors