Richard Swan's picture

Richard Swan

Richard Swan was born in North Yorkshire and spent most of his early life on Royal Air Force bases in Yorkshire and Lincolnshire. After studying law at the University of Manchester, Richard was Called to the Bar in 2011. He subsequently retrained as a solicitor specialising in commercial litigation.

Between 2015 and 2018, Richard self-published "The Art of War Trilogy", a sequence of epic space opera novels, as well as a prequel ("Hadan's Reach") and two spinoff mil-sci-fi novellas ("VIPER One", and "VIPER One: Countervalue", the latter co-authored with George Lockett). Richard's debut fantasy "Empire of the Wolf" trilogy recently sold to Orbit Books for a six-figure sum, with the first installment coming out in Spring 2022. When he is not writing or working, Richard can be found in London with his wonderful wife Sophie, where they attempt to raise, with mixed results, their two very loud sons.


Genres: Science Fiction, Fantasy
New Books
September 2023

Blood Harvest
(Warhammer 40,000)
Art of War Trilogy
   0. Hadan's Reach (2018)
   1. Reclamation (2015)
   2. The Ascendancy War (2016)
   3. Empire of the Fallen (2016)
   VIPER One (2016)
   VIPER One: Countervalue (2017) (with George Lockett)
Series contributed to

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors