book cover of The Ruin of the Watcher

The Ruin of the Watcher

(The first book in the Fox Argall series)
A novel by

On paper, Lieutenant Ellis Cadnon 'Fox' Argall, MD, PhD, JD is a hero. He’s handsome, wildly over-educated, eccentric, and adores his wife with epic passion. Fox's brain is neurospecial, weaving unfiltered webs of complex science with murder and a side of romance through twisty mystery threads. Our compulsive detective drags his ensemble cast on journeys through literal and figurative Florida swamps, where he leaves a trail of irritation everywhere he goes. Well, almost everywhere. He's very good at a thing or two. Obsession has its benefits.

It’s all exactly his kind of trouble.

In The Ruin of the Watcher, a string of broken children arrive on Fox’s doorstep like offerings, forcing the detective to follow the breadcrumbs to a showdown with an old and dangerous enemy. The last time the two met, Fox ran for his life. This time, it's not just his life on the line. This time, he can't run.

The Ruin of the Watcher is the prequel for Fox Argall Mysteries. The books are numbered so the reader can fully appreciate the details of the friendships and failures as they develop, although the books are standalone mysteries and can be read in any order. The Ruin of the Watcher introduces the main cast of characters and their beginnings from the earliest days of their relationships in Columbus, Ohio as young adults. Each subsequent book brings a different murder mystery, always with the main cast, and adds interesting new characters along the way.

Genre: Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for Collings MacCrae's The Ruin of the Watcher

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors