book cover of Outback
Added by 51 members
 

Outback

(2022)
(The first book in the DS Walker Thriller series)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
2023 John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger (shortlist)

The Number 1 Internationally Bestselling Ebook, perfect for fans of The Dry by Jane Harper.

'Tense, gripping and atmospheric' - CHRIS WHITAKER
'Gripped me from its shocking start' - SARAH YARWOOD-LOVETT
'I highly recommend it' - LYNDA LA PLANTE CBE

TWO MISSING BACKPACKERS. ONE VAST OUTBACK.

DS Lucas Walker is on leave in his hometown, Caloodie, taking care of his dying grandmother. When two young German backpackers, Berndt and Rita, vanish from the area, he finds himself unofficially on the case.

But why all the interest from the Federal Police when they have probably just ditched the heat and dust of the outback for the coast? Working in the organised crime unit has opened Walker's eyes to the growing drug trade in Australia's remote interior - and he becomes convinced there is more at play.

As the number of days since the couple's disappearance climbs, Walker is joined by Rita's older sister. A detective herself with Berlin CID, she has flown to Australia - desperate to find her sister.

Their search becomes ever more urgent as temperatures soar. Even if Walker does find the young couple, will it be too late?

This deeply atmospheric thriller is the gripping opening of a new crime series for fans of Cara Hunter and Chris Whitaker.

Shortlisted for the CWA New Blood Dagger Award 2023.

Readers are gripped by Outback:

'
Nail-biting thriller!... From the beginning I was hooked!... A thrilling ride that had me holding my breath through its finale. Highly recommended' Reader review, 5 stars

'
Finished this book within a day... I honestly loved it, really had you guessing who the murderer was 'til the last minute' Reader review, 5 stars

'Great, suspenseful mystery...
The last 30% turned me into a nervous wreck!' Reader review, 5 stars


Genre: Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Patricia Wolf's Outback


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors