book cover of Anthrax Island
Added by 5 of our members

Anthrax Island

(2021)
(The first book in the John Tyler series)
A novel by

 
 
'One of the thrillers of the year' Scottish Sun

‘A first class thriller… This debut is going to be huge’
Mari Hannah, author of Without a Trace

FACT: In 1942, in growing desperation at the progress of the war and fearing invasion by the Nazis, the UK government approved biological weapons tests on British soil. Their aim: to perfect an anthrax weapon destined for Germany. They succeeded.

FACT: Though the attack was never launched, the testing ground, Gruinard Island, was left lethally contaminated. It became known as Anthrax Island.

Now government scientists have returned to the island. They become stranded by an equipment failure and so John Tyler is flown in to fix the problem. He quickly discovers there’s more than research going on. When one of the scientists is found impossibly murdered inside a sealed room, Tyler realises he’s trapped with a killer...

A gripping thriller that will leave you guessing until the final page. Perfect for fans of Terry Hayes, James Swallow and Alistair MacLean.

Praise for Anthrax Island

'Uncomfortably well researched and brimming with pace, Anthrax Island is that rare thing: a thoughtful and intelligent thriller. Absolutely brilliant' M. W. Craven, 2019 CWA Gold Dagger award winning author of The Puppet Show

'A nerve-shredding thriller packed full of atmosphere and tension from a writer to watch' Doug Johnstone, author of The Big Chill

Anthrax Island makes brilliant use of a unique setting, and at times reads like Agatha Christie by way of John Carpenter's The Thing. Enthralling’ Mason Cross, author of Presumed Dead

Anthrax Island is an exhilarating thrill ride with so many twists and turns that it’s impossible to predict what’s going to happen next. A classic mystery with a contemporary twist, Anthrax Island is a joy’ Chris McGeorge, author of Inside Out

‘Smart, rocket-paced and super twisty this phenomenal debut thriller is like a cross between Jack Reacher, Bond, and And Then There Were None. A real must read!’ Steph Broadribb, author of Deep Down Dead

‘Absolute belter! Seriously, if Hercule Poirot and James Bond had a baby and sent him to the Jason Bourne School for Badasses he would grow up to be John Tyler. Cars, cash, poison, guns, thrills, chills and murder – this book has the lot’ S E Moorhead, author of Witness X

‘A genre-busting debut. It’s like the bastard son of Agatha Christie and Ian Fleming watched The Thing on repeat before bashing out a pacy, locked-room, action-adventure thriller’ Trevor Wood, 2020 CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger award-winning author of One Way Street

Genre: Thriller

Praise for this book

"Smart, rocket-paced and super twisty this phenomenal debut thriller is like a cross between Jack Reacher, Bond, and And Then There Were None. A real must read!" - Steph Broadribb

"Uncomfortably well researched and brimming with pace, Anthrax Island is that rare thing: a thoughtful and intelligent thriller. Absolutely brilliant." - M W Craven

"Anthrax Island makes brilliant use of a unique setting, and at times reads like Agatha Christie by way of John Carpenter's The Thing. Enthralling." - Mason Cross

"A nerve-shredding thriller packed full of atmosphere and tension from a writer to watch." - Doug Johnstone

"Anthrax Island is an exhilarating thrill ride with so many twists and turns that it’s impossible to predict what’s going to happen next. A classic mystery with a contemporary twist, Anthrax Island is a joy." - Chris McGeorge

"Absolute belter! Seriously, if Hercule Poirot and James Bond had a baby and sent him to the Jason Bourne School for Badasses he would grow up to be John Tyler. Cars, cash, poison, guns, thrills, chills and murder – this book has the lot." - SE Moorhead

"A genre-busting debut. It’s like the bastard son of Agatha Christie and Ian Fleming watched The Thing on repeat before bashing out a pacy, locked-room, action-adventure thriller." - Trevor Wood


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for D L Marshall's Anthrax Island

Paperback Editions

May 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Anthrax Island: 1 (The John Tyler series)
Author(s): D L Marshall
ISBN: 1-80032-275-5 / 978-1-80032-275-2
Publisher: Canelo
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Anthrax Island (The John Tyler series Book 1)
Author(s): D L Marshall
Publisher: Canelo Action
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU