book cover of This is Not a Novel and Other Novels

This is Not a Novel and Other Novels

An omnibus of novels by

An omnibus of three essential, darkly humorous novels from a master of his own, unique genre and an influential voice in contemporary literature.

David Markson's unique novels earned him praise from the likes of Kurt Vonnegut and David Foster Wallace, Ann Beattie and Zadie Smith. Markson created his own personal genre. With crackling wit distilled into incantatory streams of thought on art, life, and death, Markson's work has delighted and astonished readers for decades.

This essential collection brings together in one volume This Is Not a Novel, Vanishing Point, and The Last Novel. In This Is Not a Novel, readers meet an author, called only "Writer," who is weary unto death of making up stories, and yet is determined to seduce the reader into turning pages and getting somewhere. Vanishing Point introduces us to "Author," who sets out to transform shoeboxes crammed with note cards into a novel. In The Last Novel, we find an elderly author (referred to only as "Novelist") who announces that, since this will be his final effort, he possesses "carte blanche to do anything he damn well pleases."

United by their focus on the trials, calamities, absurdities and even tragedies of the creative life, these novels demonstrate David Markson's extraordinary intellectual richness - leaving readers, time after time, with the most indisputably original of reading experiences . . . "a drift toward the momentary reconciliation of art, intellect, and mortality" (Publishers Weekly).

Similar books by other authors

Used availability for David Markson's This is Not a Novel and Other Novels

Kindle Editions

March 2016 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: This is Not a Novel: And Other Novels
Author(s): David Markson
Publisher: Counterpoint
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU