book cover of The Normandy Privateer
Added by 1 of our members

The Normandy Privateer

(2016)
(The first book in the Lieutenant Oliver Anson Thriller series)
A novel by

 
 
England. 1800s.

The family of a young Royal Navy officer killed in action on a mission to capture a French privateer in 1798 install a memorial tablet in their church to commemorate his life and service to King and country.

Lieutenant Oliver Anson, a distant relative of the illustrious circumnavigator George Anson and the younger son of a Kent clergyman, led the raid bidding to capture the gun brig Egalite hiding in a small Normandy harbour.

But when it all goes wrong, Anson is felled by a musket ball in the head and is among the dead and wounded left ashore after his shipmates seek the refuge of their ship HMS Phryne.

Only - and despite official newspaper reports to the contrary - the less-than-god-fearing Anson turns out not to be dead at all but very much alive, and stuns even fellow seamen with his miraculous resurrection.

It is, however, far from plain sailing for the prisoners to escape from behind enemy lines and get back across the Channel.

And the resourceful and ambitious Anson is then dealt a hammer blow by the admiralty when he is later denied a new sea-going appointment.

Instead his future is to be an unattractive-looking, land-based role with the Sea Fencibles - tasked with foiling any potential French invasion attempt along the Kent coastline.

Perhaps worse, sea rover Anson finds himself falling into the clutches of a local bigwig's voluptuous and determined daughter who is desperate to find a husband...

The Normandy Privateer charts the ups and downs of Lieutenant Anson and shines a poignant light on the loneliness and responsibilities of command.

'An enlightening historical thriller.' - Thomas Waugh

David McDine OBE, is a former Deputy Lieutenant of Kent and a former Royal Navy Reserve officer and Admiralty information officer. He is also the author of Unconquered: The Story of Kent and its Lieutenancy. The Five Horseshoes, his debut novel in the Animal Man series, is sure to appeal to fans of Tom Sharpe, Alexander McCall Smith, PG Wodehouse and Evelyn Waugh.

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"A swash-buckling adventure." - Richard Foreman


Similar books by other authors

thumb
An Onshore Storm
(Alan Lewrie, book 24)
Dewey Lambdin
thumb
Persephone
(Thomas Kydd, book 18)
Julian Stockwin
thumb
The Baltic Prize
(Thomas Kydd, book 19)
Julian Stockwin

Used availability for David McDine's The Normandy Privateer

Paperback Editions

September 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Normandy Privateer: The first thrilling naval adventure with Lieutenant Oliver Anson
Author(s): David McDine
ISBN: 1-5498-2494-5 / 978-1-5498-2494-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Normandy Privateer
Author(s): David McDine
ISBN: 1-5397-7150-4 / 978-1-5397-7150-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

October 2016 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Normandy Privateer: A thrilling naval adventure with Lieutenant Oliver Anson
Author(s): David McDine
Publisher: Endeavour Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU