book cover of A Dark God Laughing
Added by 1 of our members

A Dark God Laughing

(The first book in the Dream and a Lie series)
A novel by

The world is changing. In the bleak northern city of Zoelon, they burn witches on Wintertide's Eve amongst the smoke and squalor of the factories. And in the east, a dark power is stirring and growing stronger. Times are dangerous for one such as Alix Reste, for Alix sees the future and he carries within him a destructive power that is beyond anything he can understand or control. Pursued through the smog dark city by a strange admirer and haunted by his own nightmares and visions, Alix begins to realise that he is a pawn in a much larger game. But Alix has secrets of his own, and he is not always what he seems. As Wintertide's Eve draws relentlessly closer, the skies rain poison, and Alix must decide where to pledge his allegiance and his own strange powers.

Genre: Fantasy

Praise for this book

"A Dark God Laughing is the intriguing debut volume of Fiona McGavin's A Dream and a Lie trilogy, offering readers a vividly imagined world filled with violent religious strife, gender-shifting characters and an engaging hint of decadence. I look forward to reading more as the story continues to unfold!" - Jacqueline Carey

Similar books by other authors

The Heirs of Locksley
(Robin Hood Stories, book 2)
Carrie Vaughn

Used availability for Fiona McGavin's A Dark God Laughing

Paperback Editions

January 2005 : UK Paperback

Title: A Dark God Laughing (Dream and a Lie)
Author(s): Fiona McGavin, Wendy Darling
ISBN: 1-904853-22-6 / 978-1-904853-22-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Immanion Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU