book cover of My Mother\'s House
Added by 3 of our members

My Mother's House

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
"A shockingly original exploration of class, race, and systemic violence . . . This house, tainted by the human evil it contains, is reminiscent of the opening line of Toni Morrison's Beloved. And, like Morrison, Momplaisir uses the tropes of fantasy to try to assert truths that ordinary language and realistic imagery cannot communicate . . . Momplaisir's debut introduces her as an author to watch." --Kirkus

For fans of Edwidge Danticat, Mehsin Hamid, Kate Atkinson, and Jesmyn Ward: a literary thriller about the complex underbelly of the immigrant American dream and the dangerous ripple effect one person's damages can have on the lives of others--told unexpectedly by a house that has held unspeakable horrors


When Lucien flees Haiti with his wife, Marie-Ange, and their three children to New York City's South Ozone Park, he does so hoping for reinvention, wealth, and comfort. He buys a rundown house in a community that is quickly changing from an Italian enclave of mobsters to a haven for Haitian immigrants, and begins life anew. Lucien and Marie-Ange call their home La Kay--"my mother's house"--and it becomes a place where their fellow immigrants can find peace, a good meal, and legal help. But as a severely emotionally damaged man emigrating from a country whose evils he knows to one whose evils he doesn't, Lucien soon falls into his worst habits and impulses, with La Kay as the backdrop for his lasciviousness. What he can't even begin to fathom is that the house is watching, passing judgment, and deciding to put an end to all the sins it has been made to hold. But only after it has set itself aflame will frightened whispers reveal Lucien's ultimate evil.
    At once an uncompromising look at the immigrant experience and an electrifying page-turner, My Mother's House is a singular, unforgettable achievement.

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Momplaisir is a bold and powerful new voice, and My Mother's House is poised to blow the roof off." - Carolina De Robertis

"Francesca Momplaisir's storytelling is lush, dynamic and captivating, with a sharp eye for details and an honest uncompromising depiction of human visciousness as well as beauty. My Mother's House is an absolutely gripping read!" - Sahar Delijani

"You need to read My Mother's House. I loved it. From the amazing opening chapter to the end, the book is original, exciting, and beautifully written. Francesca Momplaisir is incredible." - Edward Kelsey Moore

"A haunting story of the (Haitian American) immigrant experience amid toxic male dominance -- My Mother's House is unsettling and unlike anything else you will read." - Karin Slaughter


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Francesca Momplaisir's My Mother's House

Hardback Editions

May 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: My Mother's House: A novel
Author(s): Francesca Momplaisir
ISBN: 0-525-65715-0 / 978-0-525-65715-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Knopf
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: My Mother's House: A novel
Author(s): Francesca Momplaisir
ISBN: 1-984898-01-9 / 978-1-984898-01-2
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

May 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: My Mother's House: A Novel
Author(s): Francesca Momplaisir
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


May 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: My Mother's House: A Novel
Author(s): Francesca Momplaisir
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: My Mother's House: A Novel
Author(s): Francesca Momplaisir
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: My Mother's House: A Novel
Author(s): Francesca Momplaisir
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

May 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: My Mother's House: A novel
Author(s): Francesca Momplaisir
Publisher: Knopf
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU