Karin Slaughter's picture
2,272 followers

Karin Slaughter


USA flag (b.1971)

Karin Slaughter is the #1 internationally bestselling author of more than a dozen novels, including the Will Trent and Grant County series and the instant New York Times bestselling standalones, Cop Town and Pretty Girls. There are more than 35 million copies of her books in print around the world. She lives in Atlanta, Georgia.

Genres: Mystery, Thriller
 
Series
Grant County
   1. Blindsighted (2001)
   2. Kisscut (2002)
   3. A Faint Cold Fear (2003)
   4. Indelible (2004)
   5. Faithless (2005)
   6. Beyond Reach (2007)
     aka Skin Privilege
   7. Genesis (2009)
     aka Undone
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbthumb
 
Will Trent
   1. Triptych (2006)
   2. Fractured (2008)
   3. Genesis (2009)
     aka Undone
   4. Broken (2010)
   5. Fallen (2011)
   5.5. Snatched (2012)
   6. Criminal (2012)
   6.5. Busted (2013)
   7. Unseen (2013)
   8. The Kept Woman (2016)
   9. The Last Widow (2019)
   10. The Silent Wife (2020)
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbthumbthumb
 
thumb
 
Anthologies edited
thumb
 
Awards
Edgar Awards Best Novel nominee (2015) : Cop Town


Karin Slaughter recommends
thumb
Industrial Magic (2004)
(Women of the Otherworld, book 4)
Kelley Armstrong
"Kelley Armstrong is one of my favorite writers."
thumb
The Red Dahlia (2006)
(Anna Travis, book 2)
Lynda La Plante
"Lynda La Plante practically invented the thriller."
thumb
Obedience (2008)
Will Lavender
"A taut and timely thriller that explores the dark side of academia."
thumb
Bad Things Happen (2009)
(David Loogan, book 1)
Harry Dolan
"Bad Things Happen is a tense read that keeps you tightly in its grip until the very last page. Harry Dolan has written an incredibly rich, smart read reminiscent of A Simple Plan or Presumed Innocent - not to mention that it's just a damn good story. Readers are in for a breathless ride."
thumb
Live to Tell (2010)
(Detective D.D. Warren, book 4)
Lisa Gardner
"Taut as a piano wire and just as well-played. Live to Tell is a suspenseful roller coaster ride."
thumb
Still Missing (2010)
Chevy Stevens
"An astonishingly well-crafted debut novel, Still Missing will have you spellbound from the first page until long after you close the book."
thumb
Long Gone (2011)
Alafair Burke
"Long Gone should come with a warning. It's a compulsively readable, highly addictive story. The ending will leave you breathless."
thumb
The Stranger You Seek (2011)
(Keye Street, book 1)
Amanda Kyle Williams
"An exceptionally smart and harrowing character-driven debut by a welcome new thriller writer."
thumb
Second Nature (2011)
Jacquelyn Mitchard
"Mitchard is one of my favorite writers for a reason. This is her best book yet."
thumb
Only One Life (2012)
(Louise Rick / Camilla Lind, book 3)
Sara Blædel
"Sara Blaedel is a force to be reckoned with. She delivers an engaging story that any reader in the world can enjoy."
thumb
Under a Silent Moon (2013)
(DCI Louisa Smith, book 1)
Elizabeth Haynes
"Check the locks on your doors and windows and surrender to this obsessive thriller."
thumb
The Weight of Blood (2014)
Laura McHugh
"A fantastic novel, rich in character and atmosphere . . . This is one you won't want to miss."
thumb
Five (2014)
Ursula Archer
"A GRISLY SCAVENGER HUNT THAT LEAVES YOU BREATHLESS FOR THE NEXT CLUE."
thumb
Guardians (2015)
(Wasteland , book 3)
Susan Kim and Laurence Klavan
"A Lord of the Flies for future generations. An irresistible page-turner."
thumb
The Melody Lingers on (2015)
Mary Higgins Clark
"I adore Mary Higgins Clark."
thumb
Without a Trace (2015)
(Annika Bengtzon, book 10)
Liza Marklund
"No one tells a story like Liza Marklund."
thumb
All Is Not Forgotten (2016)
Wendy Walker
"Deeply intriguing and provocative... not to be missed."
thumb
The Legacy (2017)
(Freyja and Huldar, book 1)
Yrsa Sigurðardóttir
"The Legacy takes us into a world where secrets are buried deep, only to reappear decades later and inflict harm on people who have no idea that they're connected by past horrors. Yrsa is a magnificent writer who envelops her stories with atmosphere so thick that only care and a bit of luck can see through it. Her characters spring vividly to life as they try their best to do just that, knowing that any mistake could be deadly for another innocent person. Impossible to put down."
thumb
The Marsh King's Daughter (2017)
Karen Dionne
"This gorgeously written eerie suspense novel gave me chills... I loved it."
thumb
The Weight of Angels (2017)
Catriona McPherson
"An unnerving and suspenseful novel, THE WEIGHT OF ANGELS is McPherson's best yet."
thumb
The Dark Intercept (2017)
(Dark Intercept, book 1)
Julia Keller
"Julia Keller is that rare talent who combines gripping suspense, a fabulous sense of place and nuanced characters you can't wait to come back to."
thumb
The Last Mrs. Parrish (2017)
Liv Constantine
"THE LAST MRS. PARRISH is an addictive and twisty debut."
thumb
The Wife Between Us (2018)
Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen
"A clever thriller with masterful twists."
thumb
The Fear (2018)
C L Taylor
"Claustrophobic and compelling."
thumb
An Easy Death (2018)
(Gunnie Rose, book 1)
Charlaine Harris
"A gripping, twisty-turny, thrill ride of a read."
thumb
Freefall (2019)
Jessica Barry
"Jessica Barry's debut novel opens at full throttle and never lets up. A young woman staggers away from a plane crash on the side of a mountain. Thousands of miles away, a mother struggles to understand what happened to the daughter she thought she knew. Set aside a few hours before you open this book...once you start reading, you won't want to stop."
thumb
Last Woman Standing (2019)
Amy Gentry
"A twisty and engrossing thriller that will keep you guessing until the very end."
thumb
Saving Meghan (2019)
D J Palmer
"Mother doesn't always know best in this thrill ride of a novel...gripping and twisted."
thumb
The Never Game (2019)
(Colter Shaw, book 1)
Jeffery Deaver
"With a twisty plot, riveting characters, and relentless suspense, The Never Game fires on every single cylinder. Readers will delight in this compelling new character from one of the finest suspense writers in the field. I always look forward to the new Deaver, but this one tops them all."
thumb
Their Little Secret (2019)
(Tom Thorne, book 16)
Mark Billingham
"Mark Billingham is a damn fine storyteller whose thrilling books always satisfy. With a propulsive plot that is as gripping as it is unnerving, you will not be able to put this book down. Their Little Secret is an unforgettable ride."
thumb
A Nearly Normal Family (2019)
M T Edvardsson
"A deceptive and riveting novel."
thumb
Recursion (2019)
Blake Crouch
"Blake Crouch has invented his own brand of page-turner--fearlessly genre-bending, consistently surprising, and determined to explode the boundaries of what a thriller can be."
thumb
The Other Mrs (2019)
Mary Kubica
"Kubica ratchets up tension and intrigue in THE OTHER MRS. Her salacious, thoroughly mysterious characters bear the qualities we all crave in a thriller--seductive, seemingly unknowable, and altogether unpredictable."
thumb
First Cut (2020)
(Dr. Jessie Teska Mystery, book 1)
Judy Melinek and T J Mitchell
"Who better to deliver a genuinely compelling mystery than real-life medical examiners? Fans of CSI and Forensic Files will devour this well plotted story."
thumb
A Conspiracy of Bones (2020)
(Temperance Brennan, book 19)
Kathy Reichs
"A Conspiracy of Bones shows off Kathy Reichs' dazzling new level of plotting mastery. A thrilling read from one of my favorite writers."
thumb
Cross Her Heart (2020)
(Bree Taggert, book 1)
Melinda Leigh
"A gripping thriller, Cross Her Heart is fast paced and riveting, with the complex and compelling lead homicide detective, Bree Taggert. The first in a destined to be a hit series."
thumb
The Golden Cage (2020)
Camilla Läckberg
"A sexy, sensational novel with intoxicating vengeance and an unexpected tenderness—The Golden Cage is tensely and skillfully drawn."
thumb
My Mother's House (2020)
Francesca Momplaisir
"A haunting story of the (Haitian American) immigrant experience amid toxic male dominance -- My Mother's House is unsettling and unlike anything else you will read."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors