book cover of The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Added by 16 of our members

The Tattooist of Auschwitz

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
For readers of Schindler's List, The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes a heart-breaking story of the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances.

I tattooed a number on her arm. She tattooed her name on my heart.



In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival - scratching numbers into his fellow victims' arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust.

Waiting in line to be tattooed, terrified and shaking, was a young girl. For Lale - a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a bit of a chancer - it was love at first sight. And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did, too.

So begins one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz.

-----

'Extraordinary - moving, confronting and uplifting . . . I recommend it unreservedly' Greame Simsion

'A moving and ultimately uplifting story of love, loyalties and friendship amidst the horrors of war . . . It's a triumph.' Jill Mansell

'A sincere . . . moving attempt to speak the unspeakable' Sunday Times

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"A moving and ultimately uplifting story of love, loyalties and friendship amidst the horrors of war . . . It's a triumph." - Jill Mansell

"Extraordinary - moving, confronting and uplifting . . . I recommend it unreservedly." - Graeme Simsion


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Other Queen
(Plantagenet and Tudor Novels, book 15)
Philippa Gregory

Used availability for Heather Morris's The Tattooist of Auschwitz

Hardback Editions

September 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz: A Novel
Author(s): Heather Morris
ISBN: 0-06-287067-X / 978-0-06-287067-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz: the heart-breaking and unforgettable international bestseller
Author(s): Heather Morris
ISBN: 1-78576-364-4 / 978-1-78576-364-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz: the heart-breaking and unforgettable international bestseller
Author(s): Heather Morris
ISBN: 1-4714-0849-3 / 978-1-4714-0849-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


October 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz: the heart-breaking and unforgettable international bestseller
Author(s): Heather Morris
ISBN: 1-78576-367-9 / 978-1-78576-367-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz: the heart-breaking and unforgettable international bestseller
Author(s): Heather Morris
ISBN: 1-78576-368-7 / 978-1-78576-368-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   


September 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz: A Novel
Author(s): Heather Morris
ISBN: 0-06-279715-8 / 978-0-06-279715-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz: A Novel
Author(s): Heather Morris
ISBN: 0-06-286094-1 / 978-0-06-286094-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperLuxe
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz: A Novel
Author(s): Heather Morris
ISBN: 0-06-287700-3 / 978-0-06-287700-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2018 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Author(s): Heather Morris
ISBN: 1-76040-317-2 / 978-1-76040-317-1 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Echo
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz: the heart-breaking and unforgettable international bestseller
Author(s): Heather Morris
ISBN: 1-78576-365-2 / 978-1-78576-365-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Zaffre Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Author(s): Heather Morris
ISBN: 1-982554-70-3 / 978-1-982554-70-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz: Library Edition
Author(s): Heather Morris
ISBN: 1-982554-69-X / 978-1-982554-69-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2018 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Author(s): Heather Morris
ISBN: 1-982554-71-1 / 978-1-982554-71-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz: A Novel
Author(s): Heather Morris
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


September 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz: A Novel
Author(s): Heather Morris
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz: A Novel
Author(s): Heather Morris
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon UK   


March 2018 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Author(s): Heather Morris
ISBN: 1-4894-2363-X / 978-1-4894-2363-4 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Author(s): Heather Morris
ISBN: 1-4894-2362-1 / 978-1-4894-2362-7 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2018 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz: Library Edition
Author(s): Heather Morris
ISBN: 1-4894-2364-8 / 978-1-4894-2364-1 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Author(s): Heather Morris
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


February 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Author(s): Heather Morris
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Author(s): Heather Morris
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Author(s): Heather Morris
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2018 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Author(s): Heather Morris
ISBN: 1-4894-2131-9 / 978-1-4894-2131-9 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Bonnier audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2018 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Author(s): Heather Morris
ISBN: 1-4894-2132-7 / 978-1-4894-2132-6 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Bonnier audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

September 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz: A Novel
Author(s): Heather Morris
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


January 2018 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz: Based on an incredible true story
Author(s): Heather Morris
Publisher: Echo, an imprint of Bonnier Publishing Australia
Availability: Amazon AU   


January 2018 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Tattooist of Auschwitz: the heart-breaking and unforgettable international bestseller
Author(s): Heather Morris
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK