book cover of The Outcasts of Time

The Outcasts of Time

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
From the author described by the London Times as "the most remarkable historian of our time" comes a stunning, high-concept time-travel adventure that is perfect for fans of S. J. Parris and Kate Mosse.

December 1348. What if you had just six days to save your soul?

With the country in the grip of the Black Death, brothers John and William fear that they will shortly die and suffer in the afterlife. But as the end draws near, they are given an unexpected choice: either to go home and spend their last six days in their familiar world, or to search for salvation across the forthcoming centuries - living each one of their remaining days ninety-nine years after the last.

John and William choose the future and find themselves in 1447, ignorant of almost everything going on around them. The year 1546 brings no more comfort, and 1645 challenges them in further unexpected ways. It is not just that technology is changing: things they have taken for granted all their lives prove to be short-lived.

As they find themselves in stranger and stranger times, the reader travels with them, seeing the world through their eyes as it shifts through disease, progress, enlightenment, and war. But their time is running out - can they do something to redeem themselves before the six days are up?

Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"It's an incredible tour de force, a vivid and page-turning evocation of an age that is long-gone yet has been brought to life again in vibrant and robust fashion thanks to Ian Mortimer's impeccable scholarship and pacy writing." - Alison Weir


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Sacred Treason
(Clarenceux Trilogy, book 1)
James Forrester

Used availability for Ian Mortimer's The Outcasts of Time

Hardback Editions

January 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Outcasts of Time
Author(s): Ian Mortimer
ISBN: 1-68177-616-2 / 978-1-68177-616-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2017 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Outcasts of Time
Author(s): Ian Mortimer
ISBN: 1-4711-4655-3 / 978-1-4711-4655-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Outcasts of Time: A Novel
Author(s): Ian Mortimer
ISBN: 1-64313-032-3 / 978-1-64313-032-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Outcasts of Time
Author(s): Ian Mortimer
ISBN: 1-4711-4658-8 / 978-1-4711-4658-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Outcasts of Time
Author(s): Ian Mortimer
ISBN: 1-4711-4656-1 / 978-1-4711-4656-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Availability: Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

January 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Outcasts of Time
Author(s): Ian Mortimer
ISBN: 1-5414-0974-4 / 978-1-5414-0974-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Outcasts of Time
Author(s): Ian Mortimer
ISBN: 1-5414-5974-1 / 978-1-5414-5974-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Outcasts of Time
Author(s): Ian Mortimer
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Outcasts of Time
Author(s): Ian Mortimer
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Outcasts of Time
Author(s): Ian Mortimer
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2018 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Outcasts of Time
Author(s): Ian Mortimer
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Availability: Amazon   


June 2017 : Australia, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Outcasts of Time
Author(s): Ian Mortimer
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2017 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Outcasts of Time
Author(s): Ian Mortimer
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Availability: Amazon UK