book cover of The Homes
Added by 6 members
 

The Homes

(2022)
A novel by

 
 
* WATERSTONES SCOTTISH BOOK OF THE MONTH *

'One of the Scottish crime books of the year. I loved it' CHRIS BROOKMYRE
'Heart-warming, heart-breaking and utterly compelling' MARION TODD
'Excellent' HERALD

THE GREATEST DANGERS LIE BEHIND CLOSED DOORS...

Twelve-year-old Lesley has lived in the Homes since she was three weeks old, just one of a thousand unwanted children who occupy the village-like estate in the lowlands of Scotland in the 1960s. Life for her and her best friend Jonesy has been hard, and often cruel, but never dangerous. Until now.

A girl is found dead at the Homes, soon followed by another. With the police unable to catch the killer, Lesley and Jonesy decide to take matters into their own hands. But unwanted children are easy victims, and the closer they get to the truth, the more they will put themselves in terrible danger...

Inspired by a true story, and introducing readers to the unforgettable voice of young orphan Lesley, The Homes is a moving and lyrical thriller, perfect for readers of Val McDermid, Chris Whitaker, Jane Casey and Denise Mina.



Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Tense yet tender, as moving as it is gripping... set to be one of the Scottish crime books of the year. I loved it." - Chris Brookmyre

"An extraordinary story quite brilliantly told. Lesley is a wonderful character, and J.B. Mylet catches her voice perfectly. I found myself staying up long after lights out reading 'just another chapter'. And then another, and another." - James Oswald

"Amazing. I was hooked from the first page... A brilliant, must read story, all the more powerful because it's told through the bewildered logic of a child. I read it with an ache in my chest for all the Lesleys and Jonesys out there." - Anna Smith

"Heart-warming, heart-breaking and utterly compelling. I could not put this beautiful book down and it stayed with me long after I finished it." - Marion Todd


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for J B Mylet's The Homes


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors