book cover of House of Ashes
Added by 1 of our members

House of Ashes

(2018)
(The first book in the Haunted Bluffs Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
A family patriarch's dying proclamation, an enigmatic disappearance, and a century-old curse converge in the shadows of a majestic home on Cape Cod's craggy coast.

Thirty-seven-year-old painter Cassandra Mitchell is fourth-generation to live in the majestic Battersea Bluffs, a brooding Queen Anne home originally built by her great-grandparents, Percy and Celeste Mitchell, and still standing despite tragedies that have swept the generations. Local lore has it that there was a curse placed on the family and the house is haunted, though opinions are divided on whether it's by malicious or benevolent spirits. Cassie believes the latter - but now she stands to lose her beloved home to mounting debt and the machinations of her dream-weaving ex-husband.

Salvation seems to arrive when a nomadic young couple wanders onto the property with the promise of companionship and much-needed help - until they vanish without a trace, leaving behind no clue to their identities. Cassie is devastated, but determined to discover what's happened to the young couple...even as digging into their disappearance starts to uncover family secrets of her own. Despite warnings from her childhood friend, now the local Chief of Police - as well as an FBI agent who pushes the boundaries of professionalism - Cassie can't help following the trail of clues (and eerie signals from the old house itself) to unravel the mystery. But can she do so before her family's dark curse destroys everything in its path?

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Loretta Marion’s House of Ashes offers a layered, suspenseful plot, a cast of engaging characters, and a sympathetic heroine dealing with forces both earthly and supernatural... A perfect read for fans of Kate Morton and Susannah Kearsley." - Rosie Genova

"House of Ashes is a haunting, atmospheric tale rich with compelling characters and a compelling mystery. So mesmerizing and immersive it's simply impossible to put down. Mysterious and entertaining, an absolute page turner." - M J Rose

"Loretta Marion has woven a tale of mystery, suspense and family lore that will keep readers guessing until the very end." - Wendy Webb


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Bloody Genius
(Virgil Flowers, book 12)
John Sandford

Used availability for Loretta Marion's House of Ashes

Hardback Editions

November 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: House of Ashes: A Haunted Bluffs Mystery
Author(s): Loretta Marion
ISBN: 1-68331-843-9 / 978-1-68331-843-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

November 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: House of Ashes: A Haunted Bluffs Mystery
Author(s): Loretta Marion
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU