book cover of Dead Man Walking
Added by 7 members
 

Dead Man Walking

(2023)
(The first book in the DS Rick Turner series)
A novel by

 
 

‘A compulsive thriller’ Ann Cleeves

‘Not to be missed!’ Daniel Sellers

His team is compromised
As dusk falls the night before the trial of notorious crime boss Thomas Unwin, the prosecution’s star witness is brutally murdered, his killer escaping in plain sight from a secure hotel.


His girlfriend is in danger
Detective Rick Turner spent months building the case against Unwin, and he’s not willing to give up now. But Unwin has one final trick up his sleeve to turn the trial in his favour: he has Rick’s girlfriend, Jess, kidnapped in a plan to coerce Rick into throwing his own testimony.


The biggest case of his life hangs in the balance
Faced with a stark choice, Rick must find Jess or give false testimony which would cost him his career and let Unwin walk free. But with the net closing in Rick must soon face a terrifying truth: the killer is closer to him than he ever expected, and as the case turns personal there is no one he can trust, not even his closest colleagues…


Perfect for fans of Gytha Lodge, Michael Wood and Matt Brolly

Readers LOVE Dead Man Walking

‘So many twists and surprises’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I read it in one sitting’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Ticked all the boxes for a great thriller’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Had me gripped’ NetGalley reviewer ���⭐⭐⭐⭐
Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Murphy has always been an exciting writer, but this brings the tension to an even greater level. Dead Man Walking is a compulsive thriller with pace, brilliant plotting, and characters who are credible, despite the extraordinary situations in which they find themselves." - Ann Cleeves

"Rich with tension and action, there are surprises at every plot twist." - M K Graff

"I loved this. An immediately gripping, compelling and emotionally wrought thriller where the high stakes and strong mystery never let up from first page to last. Clear your diary and get reading!" - Gytha Lodge

"Always exciting to meet a new detective, esp when they're as kick ass as DS Rick Turner... Kidnapping and killing for days in this hard slice of London crime. Very keen to read the next in the series." - Dan Malakin

"In Dead Man Walking, M K Murphy grabs the reader by the collar and pulls them through a wildly suspenseful, high-stakes plot - never letting go till the very last page. Not to be missed!" - Daniel Sellers

"Tension bristles on every page on this rollercoaster of a read. I couldn't put the book down." - Sarah Ward

"An unstoppable and addictive thriller. Clear your diary, you'll want to read this in one sitting." - Michael Wood


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for M K Murphy's Dead Man Walking


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors