book cover of The Master Mariner
Added by 2 of our members

The Master Mariner

(A book in the Master Mariner series)
An omnibus of novels by

A young Devon sailor, Matthew Lawe, is cursed after a spectacular act of cowardice to wander the wild waters till all the seas run dry. In this, Nicholas Monsarrat's final masterpiece, Lawe represents the spirit of maritime exploration and fortitude; his life is the thread stringing together a long history of nautical adventure. Written in two volumes, the first of which appeared in 1978, the story encompasses the full extent of maritime development, beginning with Sir Francis Drake abandoning a game of bowls to fight the great crescent of the Spanish fleet, to the opening in 1960 of the St Lawrence Seaway, the farthest penetration of land ever made by ocean-going sailors. Nicholas Monsarrat died in 1979, before he had completed the second volume, but his notes and outlines are included here to provide a satisfying end to Matthew Lawe's epic wanderings.

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors

A Column of Fire
(Kingsbridge, book 3)
Ken Follett

Used availability for Nicholas Monsarrat's The Master Mariner

Hardback Editions

September 1980 : UK Hardback

Title: Master Mariner: Bks. 1 & 2
Author(s): Nicholas Monsarrat
ISBN: 0-304-30739-4 / 978-0-304-30739-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Littlehampton Book Services Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

December 2000 : UK Paperback

Title: Master Mariner
Author(s): Nicholas Monsarrat
ISBN: 1-84232-150-1 / 978-1-84232-150-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: House of Stratus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

March 2012 : Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: The Master Mariner (Both Volumes I & II)
Author(s): Nicholas Monsarrat
Publisher: House of Stratus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU