book cover of Running Proud
Added by 2 of our members

Running Proud

(The first book in the Master Mariner series)
A novel by

(In this, Nicholas Monsarrat's masterpiece, Lawe represents the spirit of maritime exploration and fortitude; his life is the thread stringing together a long history of nautical adventure. Written in two volumes, the first of which appeared in 1978, the story encompasses the full extent of maritime development, beginning with Sir Francis Drake abandoning a game of bowls to fight the great crescent of the Spanish fleet, to the opening in 1960 of the St Lawrence Seaway, the farthest penetration of land ever made by ocean-going sailors)

Genre: Historical

Used availability for Nicholas Monsarrat's Running Proud

Hardback Editions

March 1979 : USA Hardback

Title: Master Mariner: Running Proud
Author(s): Nicholas Monsarrat
ISBN: 0-688-03397-0 / 978-0-688-03397-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow & Co
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

September 1978 : UK Hardback

Title: Master Mariner, book I: Running Proud
Author(s): Nicholas Monsarrat
ISBN: 0-304-29609-0 / 978-0-304-29609-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Weidenfeld Nicolson
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

1980 : UK Paperback

Title: Master Mariner: Book 1: Running Proud: Running Proud Bk.1
Author(s): Nicholas Monsarrat
ISBN: 0-330-25845-1 / 978-0-330-25845-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Pan
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 1980 : USA Paperback

Title: Master Mariner Running Proud
Author(s): Nicholas Monsarrat
ISBN: 0-445-04519-1 / 978-0-445-04519-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Fawcett Popular Library
Availability: Amazon