New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
C S Forester's picture

C S Forester

(Cecil Scott Forester)
UK (1899 - 1966)

Cecil Scott Forester was the pen name of Cecil Louis Troughton Smith, an English novelist who rose to fame with tales of adventure and military crusades. His most notable works were the 11-book Horatio Hornblower series, about naval warfare during the Napoleonic era, and The African Queen (1935; filmed in 1951 by John Huston). His novels A Ship of the Line and Flying Colours were jointly awarded the 1938 James Tait Black Memorial Prize for fiction.

Genres: Thriller
Horatio Hornblower
1. The Happy Return (1937)
     aka Beat to Quarters
2. The Ship of the Line (1938)
3. Flying Colours (1938)
4. The Commodore (1945)
     aka Commodore Hornblower
5. Lord Hornblower (1946)
6. Mr Midshipman Hornblower (1950)
7. Lieutenant Hornblower (1952)
8. Hornblower and the Atropos (1953)
9. Admiral Hornblower in the West Indies (1957)
10. Hornblower and the Hotspur (1962)
11. Hornblower and the Crisis (1967)
     aka Hornblower During the Crisis
12. Hornblower Addendum (2011)
The Indomitable Hornblower (omnibus) (1963)
The Hornblower Companion (1964)
The Young Hornblower (omnibus) (1964)
     aka Horatio Hornblower Goes to Sea
Captain Hornblower RN (omnibus) (1965)
Admiral Hornblower (omnibus) (1966)


Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by C S Forester

Short stories
The Man Who Felt Queer
The Physiology of Fear
The Turn of the Tide (1934)
The Head and the Feet (1945)
The Man Who Didn't Ask Why (1957)
Between Eight and Eight (1965)

Books about C S Forester

Search for