book cover of A Fever of the Blood
Added by 6 of our members

A Fever of the Blood

(2016)
(The second book in the Frey & McGray series)
A novel by

 
 
This riveting new detective novel evokes a spellbinding concoction of crime, history, and horror - perfect for fans of Arthur Conan Doyle and P.D. James.

New Year's Day, 1889.

In Edinburgh's lunatic asylum, a patient escapes as a nurse lays dying. Leading the manhunt are legendary local Detective 'Nine-Nails' McGray and Londoner-in-exile Inspector Ian Frey.

Before the murder, the suspect was heard in whispered conversation with a fellow patient - a girl who had been mute for years. What made her suddenly break her silence? And why won't she talk again? Could the rumours about black magic be more than superstition?

McGray and Frey track a devious psychopath far beyond their jurisdiction, through the worst blizzard in living memory, into the shadow of Pendle Hill - home of the Lancashire witches - where unimaginable danger awaits.

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
A Question of Betrayal
(Elena Standish, book 2)
Anne Perry
thumb
The Night Raids
(Nighthawk, book 3)
Jim Kelly
thumb
Execution
(Giordano Bruno, book 6)
S J Parris

Used availability for Oscar De Muriel's A Fever of the Blood

Hardback Editions

April 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: A Fever of the Blood
Author(s): Oscar de Muriel
ISBN: 1-68177-345-7 / 978-1-68177-345-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Pegasus Crime
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

June 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: A Fever of the Blood: A Novel (A Frey & McGray Mystery)
Author(s): Oscar de Muriel
ISBN: 1-68177-753-3 / 978-1-68177-753-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Pegasus Crime
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A Fever of the Blood: A Victorian Mystery Book 2
Author(s): Oscar de Muriel
ISBN: 0-7181-7984-6 / 978-0-7181-7984-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2016 : UK Audio CD

Title: A Fever of the Blood: Frey & McGray Book 2
Author(s): Oscar de Muriel
ISBN: 1-4059-2994-4 / 978-1-4059-2994-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   


February 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Fever of the Blood: Frey & McGray, Book 2
Author(s): Oscar de Muriel
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


February 2016 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Fever of the Blood: Frey & McGray, Book 2
Author(s): Oscar de Muriel
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Fever of the Blood: Frey & McGray, Book 2
Author(s): Oscar de Muriel
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Fever of the Blood: Frey & McGray, Book 2
Author(s): Oscar de Muriel
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2017 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Fever of the Blood: A Novel (A Frey & McGray Mystery Book 2)
Author(s): Oscar de Muriel
Publisher: Pegasus Crime
Availability: Amazon   


February 2016 : Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Fever of the Blood: A Victorian Mystery Book 2
Author(s): Oscar de Muriel
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU