book cover of The Bookseller of Inverness
Added by 59 of our members

The Bookseller of Inverness

(2022)
A novel by

 
 
A gripping historical thriller set in Inverness in the wake of the 1746 battle of Culloden from twice CWA award-winning author S. G. MacLean. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Andrew Taylor.

After Culloden, Iain McGillavray was left for dead on Drumossie Moor. Wounded, his face brutally slashed, he survived only by pretending to be dead as the Redcoats patrolled the corpses of his Jacobite comrades.

Six years later, with the clan chiefs routed and the Highlands subsumed into the British state, Iain lives a quiet life, working as a bookseller in Inverness. One day, after helping several of his regular customers, he notices a stranger lurking in the upper gallery of his shop, poring over his collection. But the man refuses to say what he's searching for and only leaves when Iain closes for the night.

The next morning Iain opens up shop and finds the stranger dead, his throat cut, and the murder weapon laid out in front of him - a sword with a white cockade on its hilt, the emblem of the Jacobites. With no sign of the killer, Iain wonders whether the stranger discovered what he was looking for - and whether he paid for it with his life. He soon finds himself embroiled in a web of deceit and a series of old scores to be settled in the ashes of war.



Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Hardback Editions

August 2022 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Bookseller of Inverness
Author(s): S G MacLean
ISBN: 1-5294-1417-2 / 978-1-5294-1417-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

August 2022 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Bookseller of Inverness
Author(s): S G MacLean
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU