book cover of The Strings of Murder
Added by 10 of our members

The Strings of Murder

(2015)
(The first book in the Frey & McGray series)
A novel by

 
 
'A hugely entertaining Victorian mystery' New York Times

'I enjoyed this - properly creepy and Gothic' Ian Rankin

A spellbinding concoction of crime, history and horror - perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes and Jonathan Creek. The First Case for Frey & McGray.

Edinburgh, 1888. A violinist is murdered in his home. The dead virtuoso's maid swears she heard three musicians playing in the night. But with only one body in the locked practice room - and no way in or out - the case makes no sense.

Fearing a national panic over another Ripper, Scotland Yard sends Inspector Ian Frey to investigate under the cover of a fake department specializing in the occult. However, Frey's new boss, Detective 'Nine-Nails' McGray, actually believes in such supernatural nonsense.

McGray's tragic past has driven him to superstition, but even Frey must admit that this case seems beyond reason. And once someone loses all reason, who knows what they will lose next...

* * *

'This is wonderful. A brilliant, moving, clever, lyrical book - I loved it. Oscar de Muriel is going to be a name to watch.'
Manda Scott

'A great cop double-act ... It's the pairing of the upright Frey and the unorthodox McGray that notches up the stars for this book. Like de Muriel, they're going places.'
Sunday Sport

'One of the best debuts so far this year - a brilliant mix of horror, history, and humour. Genuinely riveting ... with plenty of twists, this will keep you turning the pages. It's clever, occasionally frightening and superbly written - The Strings Of Murder is everything you need in a mystery thriller.'
Crime Review

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Indigo Ghosts
(Gabriel Taverner Mystery, book 3)
Alys Clare
thumb
The Strangler Vine
(Blake and Avery, book 1)
M J Carter

Used availability for Oscar De Muriel's The Strings of Murder

Hardback Editions

May 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Strings of Murder: A Novel (A Frey & McGray Mystery)
Author(s): Oscar de Muriel
ISBN: 1-68177-132-2 / 978-1-68177-132-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Pegasus Crime
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Strings of Murder (A Frey & McGray Mystery)
Author(s): Oscar de Muriel
ISBN: 1-68177-415-1 / 978-1-68177-415-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Pegasus Crime
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Strings of Murder: Frey & McGray Book 1 (A Victorian Mystery)
Author(s): Oscar de Muriel
ISBN: 0-7181-7982-X / 978-0-7181-7982-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2017 : UK Audio CD

Title: The Strings of Murder: Frey & McGray Book 1 (A Case for Frey & McGray)
Author(s): Oscar de Muriel
ISBN: 1-4059-3201-5 / 978-1-4059-3201-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   


February 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Strings of Murder
Author(s): Oscar de Muriel
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


February 2015 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Strings of Murder
Author(s): Oscar de Muriel
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2015 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Strings of Murder
Author(s): Oscar de Muriel
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2015 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Strings of Murder
Author(s): Oscar de Muriel
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

May 2016 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Strings of Murder (A Frey & McGray Mystery Book 1)
Author(s): Oscar de Muriel
Publisher: Pegasus Crime
Availability: Amazon   


February 2015 : Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Strings of Murder: Frey & McGray Book 1 (A Victorian Mystery)
Author(s): Oscar de Muriel
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU