book cover of The Hunger of Empires
Added by 2 members
 

The Hunger of Empires

(2023)
(The second book in the Erland Saga series)
A novel by

 
 
Erland is in flames.

Two kings claim the throne and the war between them lays waste to the country.

Far away, an old enemy scents weakness. The vast empire of Ulvatia desires new lands. Under a ruthless new leader,
the empire turns its armies on Erland.

Orsian has lived in hiding since his father Andrick was cut down in battle. On the dark backstreets of Cliffark, surrounded by thieves and pirates, he finds a home. When Erland is threatened, Orsian knows he must fight. Will he protect his new friends or risk returning to his family?

Rymond Prindian wears the crown of West Erland, but his struggle for power is just beginning. The might of the empire will fall on his new kingdom soon. Courtiers whisper and ruthless mercenaries sharpen their knives—and Rymond can show no sign of weakness.

High above,
Pherri pushes through wind and snow on the mountain of Eryispek to discover the origins of her magic. There, she learns of another war, far greater than the one being fought on the plains below. Two rival gods, with unimaginable power, have been imprisoned in the mountain for centuries.

And now they are breaking free.

An utterly gripping adventure packed with battles and betrayal, twisting politics and wild magic, The Hunger of Empires continues R.S. Moule’s epic Erland Saga. Guaranteed to keep you reading late into the night, it’s perfect for fans of John Gwynne, Raymond E. Feist and George R.R. Martin.

See why readers love the Erland Saga:

“What a cracking read… The battle scenes are breathtaking. I did not want this book to end.
Please can I have the next book now PLEASE. A must-read for all lovers of this genre. Loved, loved it!!!!!!!!!” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐���

“Superb, epic fantasy.
Gripping until the very end… clever intertwining plots. Couldn’t put it down and can’t wait for Book 2… The various strands left open at the end of the book leave you desperate to start the next book in the series. Best book I’ve read in a long time.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Felt like I’d absolutely
flown through it in the blink of an eye… Brilliant characters who by the end I was really attached to and leapt from the page… I’m desperate to know what happens next.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Impressive new author… and an impressive new series.
Such a cool setting and an entertaining ride!” NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“This is the kind of book that fans of Robert Jordan’s
Wheel of Time would enjoy… For those readers who are like ‘heck yes’ so far, this book was beautifully written. It has all the skills of most seasoned fantasy authors.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Genre: Fantasy

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for R S Moule's The Hunger of Empires


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors