New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

The Queen's Accomplice

(2016)
(The sixth book in the Maggie Hope series)
A novel by

 
Awards
Barry Awards Best Paperback original (nominee)
Spy and code-breaker extraordinaire Maggie Hope returns to war-weary London, where she is thrust into the dangerous hunt for a monster, as the New York Times bestselling mystery series for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry continues.

England, 1942. The Nazis' relentless Blitz may have paused, but London's nightly blackouts continue. Now, under the cover of darkness, a madman is brutally killing and mutilating young women in eerie and exact re-creations of Jack the Ripper's crimes. What's more, he's targeting women who are reporting for duty to be Winston Churchill's spies and saboteurs abroad. The officers at MI-5 quickly realize they need the help of special agent Maggie Hope to find the killer dubbed "the Blackout Beast." A trap is set. But once the murderer has his sights on Maggie, not even Buckingham Palace can protect the resourceful spy from her fate.

Praise for The Queen's Accomplice

"Maggie is a thoughtful spy whose dangerous escapades never disappoint." - Kirkus Reviews

"A fine historical mystery given a feminist slant." - Booklist

"Plausible and elegant . . . Like all MacNeal's novels, this one ends on a cliffhanger that will leave readers eagerly awaiting Maggie's next adventure." - Shelf Awareness

"Works as a suspenseful stand-alone . . . interesting and informative . . . wartime London is vividly portrayed . . . recommended for those who like their historical mysteries with a large dose of suspense." - Historical Novel Society

"For those who are Maggie Hope diehards, this latest in the series is sure to satisfy." - Reviewing the Evidence

"MacNeal's meticulous research shines through on every page, and pays off with a wartime atmosphere that feels real." - Crimespree Magazine

Genre: Historical Mystery
 
Similar Books by other authors...


Journey to Munich
(Maisie Dobbs, book 12)

Jacqueline Winspear

In This Grave Hour
(Maisie Dobbs, book 13)

Jacqueline Winspear

Death at the Seaside
(Kate Shackleton, book 8)

Frances Brody

Crowned and Dangerous
(Royal Spyness, book 10)

Rhys Bowen
 
Used availability for Susan Elia MacNeal's The Queen's Accomplice


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Paperback Editions

October 2016 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: The Queen's Accomplice: A Maggie Hope Mystery
Author(s): Susan Elia MacNeal
ISBN: 0-8041-7872-0 / 978-0-8041-7872-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bantam
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

October 2016 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: The Queen's Accomplice (A Maggie Hope Mystery)
Author(s): Susan Elia MacNeal
ISBN: 1-4104-9235-4 / 978-1-4104-9235-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Kennebec Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

October 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Queen's Accomplice: A Maggie Hope Mystery, Book 6
Author(s): Susan Elia MacNeal
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   

October 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Queen's Accomplice: A Maggie Hope Mystery, Book 6
Author(s): Susan Elia MacNeal
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

October 2016 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Queen's Accomplice: A Maggie Hope Mystery
Author(s): Susan Elia Macneal
Publisher: Bantam
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Search for