New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Queen\'s Accomplice

The Queen's Accomplice

(2016)
(The sixth book in the Maggie Hope series)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
Barry Awards Best Paperback original (nominee)
Spy and code-breaker extraordinaire Maggie Hope returns to war-weary London, where she is thrust into the dangerous hunt for a monster, as the New York Times bestselling mystery series for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry continues.

England, 1942. The Nazis' relentless Blitz may have paused, but London's nightly blackouts continue. Now, under the cover of darkness, a madman is brutally killing and mutilating young women in eerie and exact re-creations of Jack the Ripper's crimes. What's more, he's targeting women who are reporting for duty to be Winston Churchill's spies and saboteurs abroad. The officers at MI-5 quickly realize they need the help of special agent Maggie Hope to find the killer dubbed "the Blackout Beast." A trap is set. But once the murderer has his sights on Maggie, not even Buckingham Palace can protect the resourceful spy from her fate.

Praise for The Queen's Accomplice

"Maggie is a thoughtful spy whose dangerous escapades never disappoint." - Kirkus Reviews

"A fine historical mystery given a feminist slant." - Booklist

"Plausible and elegant . . . Like all MacNeal's novels, this one ends on a cliffhanger that will leave readers eagerly awaiting Maggie's next adventure." - Shelf Awareness

"Works as a suspenseful stand-alone . . . interesting and informative . . . wartime London is vividly portrayed . . . recommended for those who like their historical mysteries with a large dose of suspense." - Historical Novel Society

"For those who are Maggie Hope diehards, this latest in the series is sure to satisfy." - Reviewing the Evidence

"MacNeal's meticulous research shines through on every page, and pays off with a wartime atmosphere that feels real." - Crimespree Magazine

Genre: Historical Mystery    

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Shattered Tree
(Bess Crawford Mystery, book 8)
Charles Todd
thumb
The No 1 Ladies' Detective Agency
(No 1 Ladies' Detective agency, book 1)
Alexander McCall Smith

Used availability for Susan Elia MacNeal's The Queen's Accomplice

Paperback Editions

October 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Queen's Accomplice: A Maggie Hope Mystery
Author(s): Susan Elia MacNeal
ISBN: 0-8041-7872-0 / 978-0-8041-7872-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bantam
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Queen's Accomplice (A Maggie Hope Mystery)
Author(s): Susan Elia MacNeal
ISBN: 1-4104-9235-4 / 978-1-4104-9235-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Kennebec Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

October 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Queen's Accomplice: A Maggie Hope Mystery, Book 6
Author(s): Susan Elia MacNeal
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


October 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Queen's Accomplice: A Maggie Hope Mystery, Book 6
Author(s): Susan Elia MacNeal
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


October 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Queen's Accomplice: A Maggie Hope Mystery, Book 6
Author(s): Susan Elia MacNeal
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

October 2016 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Queen's Accomplice: A Maggie Hope Mystery
Author(s): Susan Elia Macneal
Publisher: Bantam
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA