Susan Elia MacNeal's picture
285 followers

Susan Elia MacNeal



Susan Elia MacNeal is a writer and editor.Her editing clients book proposals have found representation at major literary agencies, including Levine Greenberg Literary Agency, Peter Steinberg Agency and Lippincott Massie McQuilkin. Her clients books have been published by Penguin, Workman Publishing, Abrams Books and other major houses.In addition, she is the author of two non-fiction books, Wedding Zen: Calming Wisdom for the Bride and Infused: 100 Recipes for Infused Liquors and Cocktails, both published by Chronicle Books. Her writing has appeared in a large number of publications, including Time Out New York, Publishers Weekly, Dance Magazine and various publications of New York City Ballet.Susan is married and lives with her husband and young son in Brooklyn.

Genres: Historical Mystery
 
Non fiction
   Wedding Zen (2004)
   Infused (2006)
thumbthumb
 
Awards
Barry Awards Best Paperback original winner (2013) : Mr. Churchill's Secretary
Dilys Awards Best Book nominee (2013) : Mr. Churchill's Secretary
Agatha Award Best Historical Novel nominee (2015) : Mrs. Roosevelt's Confidante
Agatha Award Best Historical Novel nominee (2017) : The Paris Spy
Barry Awards Best Paperback original nominee (2017) : The Queen's Accomplice


Susan Elia MacNeal recommends
thumb
The Strangler Vine (2014)
(Blake and Avery, book 1)
M J Carter
"In the great detective novel tradition of The Moonstone and the Sherlock Holmes series, by way of The Glass Books trilogy....With gorgeous historical detail and deft characterization, Carter creates a rip-roaring detective romp."
thumb
The Other Side of Midnight (2015)
Simone St James
"Simone St. James has created her own genre--historical gothic mystery romance, with more than a dash of the creepy...Real emotional resonance."
thumb
A Curious Beginning (2015)
(Veronica Speedwell Mystery, book 1)
Deanna Raybourn
"Wickedly clever and devilishly amusing. . .Veronica Speedwell is a joy unflappable, unrepentant, and thoroughly delightful."
thumb
The Graves (2017)
(Abby Endicott, book 2)
Pamela Wechsler
"A perfect mix of suspense, character, and authenticity. A wonderfully read."
thumb
The Burial Society (2018)
(Burial Society, book 1)
Nina Sadowsky
"Addicting and chilling . . . a smart, sophisticated, terrifying trip to the City of Light."
thumb
The Widows of Malabar Hill (2018)
(Perveen Mistry, book 1)
Sujata Massey
"Perveen Mistry is an extraordinary heroine—one of the first female lawyers in India, she’s whip smart, strong-willed, and, most importantly, compassionate. Defying convention while draped in a sari, Perveen is sure to join the leads of great mystery fiction."
thumb
The Darkling Bride (2018)
(Gallagher Family, book 1)
Laura Andersen
"Perfect for fans of Possession, Rebecca, and Jane Eyre, The Darkling Bride hits all the sweet spots: an intelligent and feisty heroine with secrets of her own—check. A dilapidated Irish castle, complete with gorgeous library and handsome Lord—check. And not one but two intertwined mysteries—check. More, please!"
thumb
A Death of No Importance (2018)
(Jane Prescott, book 1)
Mariah Fredericks
"A taut, suspenseful, and complex murder mystery with gorgeous period detail."
thumb
Bound for Gold (2018)
(Peter Fallon, book 6)
William Martin
"Fans of rare book dealer Peter Fallon, rejoice?he’s back (with lady friend Evangeline Carrington, of course), unearthing family skeletons from the Gold Rush. Historic fact intertwines with vibrant fiction in this timely and relevant novel."
thumb
A Dangerous Duet (2018)
Karen Odden
"A captivating tale of mystery, history, and a dash of romance—with an ahead-of-her-time heroine who not only plays the piano with aplomb, but defies Victorian conventions, courts danger, and solves mysteries. Nell Hallam is a heroine to root for."
thumb
The Words I Never Wrote (2020)
Jane Thynne
"Jane Thynne’s latest novel is magnificent. In her first standalone, she expertly intertwines the stories of three different women with secrets—two sisters on opposite sides in World War II, and the present-day young photographer who pieces their stories together. Thynne works with a journalist’s talent for choosing the telling historic detail—including cameos by the ambassador to Germany’s daughter Martha Dodd and double-agent Kim Philby—combined with a novelist’s sense of how those details come together to shape a relevant and timeless story."
thumb
Three Hours in Paris (2020)
Cara Black
"I couldn't stop reading Cara Black's newest! A young American markswoman named Kate Reese is sent to Paris to assassinate Hitler--what could possibly go wrong? Everything, as it turns out, prompting an intense cat-and-mouse chase through the blacked-out City of Light. Nothing is as it seems, certainly not for Kate, as she tries to escape and make it back to Britain with plans of the secret of the Nazi invasion. Black keeps you guessing--and biting your nails--up to the very last page."
thumb
Glamour Girls (2021)
Marty Wingate
"Fans of strong women defying the odds will love Wingate's novel of Englishwoman Rosalie Wright's struggle to become pilot during World War II--there's friendship, romance, adventure, and wonderful attention to period detail."
thumb
Last Night at the Telegraph Club (2021)
Malinda Lo
"Oh, what a wonderful novel this is! For all who ever dared to want more, much more, from life—a beautifully sensitive love story, with telling historic detail."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors