New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of On the Bone

On the Bone

(2016)
(Book 18 in the Cetin Ikmen series)
A novel by

 
 
In Istanbul - the golden city on the Bosphorus - ancient myths and modern evils are at work...

On the Bone is the eighteenth novel in the brilliant Istanbul crime thriller series starring Inspector Cetin Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph), from Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Donna Leon and Lindsey Davis.

'Nadel's evocation of the shady underbelly of modern Turkey is one of the perennial joys of crime fiction' - Mail on Sunday

On a buzzing street in the fashionable district of Beyoglu, a young man drops dead. Umit Kavas's death was natural but the autopsy betrays a shocking truth: his last meal was human flesh.

Under desperate pressure from their superiors, Inspector Cetin Ikmen and his colleague Mehmet Suleyman begin their most obscure investigation yet. How did Umit Kavas, apparently a good, liberal man, come to partake in the greatest taboo of all? Did he act alone? And who was his victim?

Soon they find themselves embroiled in a dark web of underground worlds: of Turkey's old secular elite; a community of squatters; and a new gastronomy scene breaking every boundary. But where does the truth lie?

What readers are saying about On the Bone:

'Combines beautifully honed storytelling and fascinating insights into life in Istanbul'

'One of her best yet'

'Fascinating in its depiction of the changed Turkish political landscape, and how that change affects the people of Istanbul from all walks of life, from the rich to the poor, the transsexuals to the young married couples, the police departments to the military'

Genre: Mystery    

Similar Books by other authors...

thumb
The Crowded Grave
(Bruno, Chief of Police Investigation, book 4)
Martin Walker
thumb
The Devil's Cave
(Bruno, Chief of Police Investigation, book 5)
Martin Walker
thumb
The Resistance Man
(Bruno, Chief of Police Investigation, book 6)
Martin Walker
thumb
Children of War
(Bruno, Chief of Police Investigation, book 7)
Martin Walker

Used availability for Barbara Nadel's On the Bone

Hardback Editions

January 2016 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18): A gripping Istanbul-based crime thriller (Inspector Ikmen Mysteries)
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
ISBN: 1-4722-1379-3 / 978-1-4722-1379-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

June 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18): A gripping Istanbul-based crime thriller
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
ISBN: 1-4722-1382-3 / 978-1-4722-1382-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18): A gripping Istanbul-based crime thriller
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
ISBN: 1-4722-1380-7 / 978-1-4722-1380-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

June 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: On the Bone: Inspector Ikmen Mystery, Book 18
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18): A gripping Istanbul-based crime thriller
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


January 2016 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18): A gripping Istanbul-based crime thriller (Inspector Ikmen Series)
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK