book cover of On the Bone
Added by 8 of our members

On the Bone

(2016)
(Book 18 in the Cetin Ikmen series)
A novel by

 
 
In Istanbul - the golden city on the Bosphorus - ancient myths and modern evils are at work...

On the Bone is the eighteenth novel in the brilliant Istanbul crime thriller series starring Inspector Cetin Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph), from Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Donna Leon and Lindsey Davis.

'Nadel's evocation of the shady underbelly of modern Turkey is one of the perennial joys of crime fiction' - Mail on Sunday

On a buzzing street in the fashionable district of Beyoglu, a young man drops dead. Ümit Kavas's death was natural but the autopsy betrays a shocking truth: his last meal was human flesh.

Under desperate pressure from their superiors, Inspector Cetin Ikmen and his colleague Mehmet Süleyman begin their most obscure investigation yet. How did Ümit Kavas, apparently a good, liberal man, come to partake in the greatest taboo of all? Did he act alone? And who was his victim?

Soon they find themselves embroiled in a dark web of underground worlds: of Turkey's old secular elite; a community of squatters; and a new gastronomy scene breaking every boundary. But where does the truth lie?

What readers are saying about On the Bone:

'Combines beautifully honed storytelling and fascinating insights into life in Istanbul'

'One of her best yet'

'Fascinating in its depiction of the changed Turkish political landscape, and how that change affects the people of Istanbul from all walks of life, from the rich to the poor, the transsexuals to the young married couples, the police departments to the military'

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Law of Innocence
(Lincoln Lawyer, book 6)
Michael Connelly
thumb
Prodigal Son
(Orphan X, book 6)
Gregg Hurwitz
thumb
Troubled Blood
(Cormoran Strike, book 5)
Robert Galbraith
thumb
Missing and Endangered
(Joanna Brady, book 19)
J A Jance

Used availability for Barbara Nadel's On the Bone

Hardback Editions

January 2016 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18): A gripping Istanbul-based crime thriller (Inspector Ikmen Mysteries)
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
ISBN: 1-4722-1379-3 / 978-1-4722-1379-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

June 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18): A gripping Istanbul-based crime thriller
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
ISBN: 1-4722-1382-3 / 978-1-4722-1382-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18): A gripping Istanbul-based crime thriller
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
ISBN: 1-4722-1380-7 / 978-1-4722-1380-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2016 : UK Audio CD

Title: On The Bone
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
ISBN: 1-78433-861-3 / 978-1-78433-861-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: On the Bone: Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   


June 2016 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: On the Bone: Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: On the Bone: Inspector Ikmen Mystery, Book 18
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: On the Bone: Inspector Ikmen Mystery, Book 18
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18): A gripping Istanbul-based crime thriller
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


January 2016 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18): A gripping Istanbul-based crime thriller (Inspector Ikmen Series)
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU