book cover of The Last Sword Maker
Added by 7 of our members

The Last Sword Maker

(2018)
(The first book in the Course of Empire series)
A novel by

 
 
In the high mountains of Tibet, rumors are spreading. People whisper of an outbreak, of thousands of dead, of bodies pushed into mass graves. It is some strange new disease ... a disease, they say, that can kill in minutes.

The Chinese government says the rumors aren't true, but no one is allowed in or out of Tibet.

At the Pentagon, Admiral James Curtiss is called to an emergency meeting. Satellite images prove that a massive genocide is underway, and an American spy has made a startling discovery. This is no disease. It's a weapons test. Chinese scientists have developed a way to kill based on a person's genetic traits. But that is only the tip of the iceberg. The success of their new weapon proves that the Chinese are nearing "Replication" - a revolutionary breakthrough that will tip the global balance of power and change the way wars are waged.

Now the US must scramble to catch up before it is too late. Admiral Curtiss gathers the nation's top scientists, including a promising young graduate student named Eric Hill who just might hold the missing piece to the replication puzzle. Soon Hill and his colleague Jane Hunter are caught up in a deadly game of sabotage as the two nations strive to be the first to reach the coveted goal. But in their headlong race, they create something unexpected ... something the world has never seen and something more powerful than they had ever imagined.

The Last Sword Maker is an exciting globe-trotting thriller with unforgettable characters that depicts a haunting vision of the future of warfare.

"A gripping, frighteningly plausible techno-thriller... Nelson's intriguing scientific predictions and distinctive near-future setting make this sure to please speculative fiction readers as well as thriller fans." - Publishers Weekly

"An all-too-plausible examination of how emerging technologies could be weaponized to horrible ends. I don't recommend reading this one right before bedtime - unless you are prepared to stay up very, very late to finish it." - Lisa Brackmann, New York Times bestselling author

"A head-spinning sci-fi-infused military thriller, with China and the United States putting everything they have into developing the perfect weapon, no matter the cost. " - Francisco Toro, columnist, Washington Post

"The danger is unique, and the treachery vast, in this rapid-paced adventure that delivers in equal doses of amazing, yet possible. An intriguing tale that will leave you thinking. " - Steve Berry, New York Times bestselling author

"A compelling thriller... Nelson's riveting narrative captures the drama of great power competition... This is a terrific debut." - Patrick Duddy, Duke University, former US Ambassador to Venezuela

"An amazing read. The Last Sword Maker has everything" - Moises Naim, New York Times bestselling author

"A terrifying vision of future warfare in the vein of Tom Clancy's and Michael Crichton's novels... A powerhouse near-future thriller with explosive action and exciting science." - Foreword Reviews

Genre: Thriller

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Face Off
(Kirk McGarvey, book 23)
David Hagberg

Used availability for Brian Nelson's The Last Sword Maker

Hardback Editions

October 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Last Sword Maker (Course of Empire Series, Book 1)
Author(s): Brian Nelson
ISBN: 1-5385-0766-8 / 978-1-5385-0766-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

October 2019 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Last Sword Maker (Course of Empire Series, Book 1)
Author(s): Brian Nelson
ISBN: 1-982546-52-2 / 978-1-982546-52-6
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Last Sword Maker (Course of Empire Series, Book 1)
Author(s): Brian Nelson
ISBN: 1-5384-7921-4 / 978-1-5384-7921-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Last Sword Maker: Library Edition (Course of Empire)
Author(s): Brian Nelson
ISBN: 1-5384-7920-6 / 978-1-5384-7920-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2018 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Last Sword Maker (Course of Empire Series, Book 1)
Author(s): Brian Nelson
ISBN: 1-5384-7922-2 / 978-1-5384-7922-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Sword Maker: The Course of Empire Series, Book 1
Author(s): Brian Nelson
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   


October 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Sword Maker: The Course of Empire Series, Book 1
Author(s): Brian Nelson
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon AU   


October 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Sword Maker: The Course of Empire Series, Book 1
Author(s): Brian Nelson
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon CA   


October 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Last Sword Maker: The Course of Empire Series, Book 1
Author(s): Brian Nelson
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

October 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Last Sword Maker (The Course of Empire Series Book 1)
Author(s): Brian Nelson
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU