book cover of The Hocus Girl
Added by 7 of our members

The Hocus Girl

(The second book in the Simon Westlow Mystery series)
A novel by

Thief-taker Simon Westow must save one of his closest friends from a grim fate at the hands of the government in this compelling historical mystery.

Leeds, May 1822. Thief-taker Simon Westow owes Davey and Emily Ashton everything - the siblings gave him sanctuary when he needed it most. So when Davey is arrested for sedition and Emily begs Simon for help, he starts asking questions, determined to clear his friend. Are the answers linked to rumours of a mysterious government spy in town?

Davey's not the only one who needs Simon's help. Timber merchant George Ericsson has been 'hocussed' by a young woman who spiked his drink and stole his valuable ring and watch. Who is she, and how does she know one of Simon's assistant Jane's deepest secrets? The path to the truth is twisted and dangerous. Simon and Jane encounter murder, lies, betrayal and a government terrified of its own people as they attempt to save Davey and find the hocus girl.

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors

Ordeal by Fire
(Bradecote and Catchpoll Investigation, book 2)
Sarah Hawkswood
Marked to Die
(Bradecote and Catchpoll Investigation, book 3)
Sarah Hawkswood

Used availability for Chris Nickson's The Hocus Girl

Hardback Editions

September 2019 : UK Hardback

Title: The Hocus Girl (A Simon Westow mystery)
Author(s): Chris Nickson
ISBN: 0-7278-8935-4 / 978-0-7278-8935-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

November 2019 : Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: The Hocus Girl (A Simon Westow mystery Book 2)
Author(s): Chris Nickson
Publisher: Severn House Publishers
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU