Deanna Raybourn's picture

Deanna Raybourn

USA flag (b.1968)

Deanna Raybourn graduated from the University of Texas at San Antonio in English and History and an emphasis on Shakespearean Studies. She taught high school English for three years in San Antonio before leaving education to pursue a career as a novelist.
Fourteen years later, she signed a three-book deal with MIRA Books. "Sex, lies and awesome clothing descriptions" is how one reader has described Deanna`s debut novel, Silent in the Grave, published in December 2007. The first in the Silent series, the book follows Lady Julia Grey as she investigates the mysterious death of her husband with the help of enigmatic private inquiry agent Nicholas Brisbane. From the drawing rooms of the aristocracy to a Gypsy camp on Hampstead Heath, Silent in the Grave deftly captures the lush ambience of Victorian London.
Deanna makes her home in Virginia, where she lives with her husband and daughter.

Genres: Historical Romance, Historical Mystery, Mystery, Historical, Romance
New and upcoming books
Lady Julia Grey
   1. Silent in the Grave (2006)
   2. Silent in the Sanctuary (2007)
   3. Silent on the Moor (2009)
   4. Dark Road to Darjeeling (2010)
   5. The Dark Enquiry (2011)
   6. Silent Night (2014)
   7. Midsummer Night (2014)
   8. Twelfth Night (2014)
   9. Bonfire Night (2014)
   A Mysterious Season (2020)
   1. Whisper of Jasmine (2014)
   2. City of Jasmine (2014)
Veronica Speedwell Mystery
   1. A Curious Beginning (2015)
   2. A Perilous Undertaking (2017)
   3. A Treacherous Curse (2018)
   4. A Dangerous Collaboration (2019)
   5. A Murderous Relation (2020)
   6. An Unexpected Peril (2021)
   7. An Impossible Impostor (2022)
   8. A Sinister Revenge (2023)
   9. A Grave Robbery (2024)
Deanna Raybourn recommends
The Framed Women of Ardemore House (2024)
(Netherleigh Mystery)
Brandy Schillace
"Twisty, engaging, and thoroughly unexpected, The Framed Women of Ardemore House is a must-read for any mystery lover. Featuring a unique cast of characters and a village full of dirty little secrets, this book delivers a fresh take on the English cozy."
The Sunset Years of Agnes Sharp (2023)
(Agnes Sharp Murder Mysteries, book 1)
Leonie Swann
"Leonie Swann's The Sunset Years of Agnes Sharp is utterly superb. It is as rich and enticing as a perfect cup of cocoa - sweet at first taste, but with something delightfully, deeply, deliciously dark within. A beguiling and unforgettable read."
The Villa (2023)
Rachel Hawkins
"Rachel Hawkins DELIVERS with The Villa. Slick, twisty, and packed full of pop culture references spanning decades, this book is a perfectly delicious read. I devoured it as fast as I could and wanted to read it again immediately. Buy one for yourself and another for your best friend because you'll want to talk about it for days."

More recommendations 

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors