book cover of Haggard\'s Inheritance

Haggard's Inheritance

(The Inheritors)
(The second book in the Haggard Chronicles series)
A novel by

It is the first half of the nineteenth century, England, and the Haggard family are raising eyebrows at the highest levels of society.

The infamous head of the family, John Haggard, has shot himself, leaving his soldier son Roger the new squire of Derleth Hall in Derbyshire.

Meanwhile, his younger brother Johnnie languishes in gaol, awaiting execution for frame breaking.

With a promise of marriage to the tinker's daughter Meg Bold, and an exile for Johnnie to the family sugar plantation in the West Indies, it looks as though Roger is certainly capable of making bold decisions as the new head of the family.

But it is when he comes into the orbit of the Favering family, intent on luring him from the Tory to the Whig party, that things begin to spiral out of control for Roger Haggard.

With Roger now in thrall to the beautiful but dangerous Mina Favering, and Johnnie to the equally dangerous poet of the day: Lord Byron, things are never simple for those with the name of Haggard.

How will the rebellious Johnnie deal with being made head of the sugar plantation, worked on by slaves?

Will he be able to quell the secret desires of his heart?

What will become of Roger Haggard: soldier; lover; aristocrat?

And most important of all, what will the Haggard family say to ridding the world of slavery, when so much of their wealth depends on it?

The sequel to Christopher Nicole's searing Haggard, Haggard's Inheritance is a fine historical epic, revealing a fascinating glimpse into a turbulent times, from Napoleon to Whig politics to slave ownership.

Praise for Christopher Nicole

'A sensual, passion-packed saga.' - Publishers Weekly

'Sex and violence... fast-paced, entertaining, appealing.' - Library Journal

Christopher Nicole is a prolific British writer of over 200 novels and non-fiction books since 1957. Nicole is a long-established author and remarkable storyteller, with a deep personal interest in history and military affairs. He has written under several pseudonyms including Peter Grange, Andrew York, Robin Cade, Mark Logan, Christina Nicholson, Alison York, Leslie Arlen, Robin Nicholson, C.R. Nicholson, Daniel Adams, Simon McKay, Caroline Gray and Alan Savage. He also wrote under the pen-name Max Marlow co-authoring with his wife, fellow author Diana Bachmann.

Genre: Historical

Used availability for Christopher Nicole's Haggard's Inheritance

Hardback Editions

April 1981 : UK Hardback

Title: Haggard's Inheritance
Author(s): Christopher Nicole
ISBN: 0-7181-1987-8 / 978-0-7181-1987-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Michael Joseph Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

Paperback Editions

May 1982 : UK Paperback

Title: Haggard's Inheritance
Author(s): Christopher Nicole
ISBN: 0-552-11923-7 / 978-0-552-11923-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corgi Childrens
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

April 1981 : USA Mass Market Paperback

Title: The Inheritors
Author(s): Christopher Nicole
ISBN: 0-451-09763-7 / 978-0-451-09763-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Signet
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

January 1999 : UK Audio Cassette

Title: Haggard's Inheritance (Isis)
Author(s): Christopher Nicole
ISBN: 0-7531-0490-3 / 978-0-7531-0490-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Gold Audio Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

August 2016 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Haggard's Inheritance (Haggard Chronicles Book 2)
Author(s): Christopher Nicole
Publisher: Endeavour Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU