book cover of Pearl of the Orient Omnibus

Pearl of the Orient Omnibus

(A book in the Pearl of the Orient series)
An omnibus of novels by

From the height of the British Empire's rule in the early 1800s up until its waning years preceding WWII, the Pearl of the Orient trilogy is an epic historical feast centered around the dramatic rise of Singapore.

Beginning with the original Pearl of the Orient, the series opens in the early 1800s with Teng Lee, an opportunity seeking merchant who harbours dreams of leaving China and settling down in paradise. With the might of the British Empire standing in the way of his dream, Teng Lee's bravery and ingenuity are tested to the limit in this superb tapestry of romance and intrigue around the glowing dawn of the great city of Singapore.

Later in the century in Dragon's Blood, Irish desperado Michael Harrington has just made a lucky escape from certain death at the hands of imperial officials and seems destined to spend the rest of his life on the run. But when a local family in Singapore give him refuge, Michael makes another attempt at making it to China with the family's daughter as his guide in this fearless, epic, no holds barred account of 25 years of one man's unconventional life in the midst of bloodshed and terror.

Dark Sun, the third and final book of the trilogy, follows twenty-year-old Larry Cairns as he, brimming with ambition and optimism, boards the Empress of India, bound for Singapore, an island filled with promise and opportunity in the early 1900s. For Larry, it is the chance to join the renowned trading house of Hammond and Teng and build a career for himself. But the threat of Japanese invasion and die-hard colonial snobbery ensure Cairns' journey is not smooth-sailing in the series finale.

Praise for Christopher Nicole

"Told with smooth authenticity" - Publishers Weekly

"His action-packed war story will appeal to squadrons of readers" - Library Journal

Christopher Nicole was born in 1930 in the West Indies and currently resides in the Channel Islands with his wife, Diana, who is also a novelist. He has written over 200 fiction and non-fiction books since 1957, including the best-selling, five-volume Caribee series. He primarily writes historical novels and specialises in series and sagas. Nicole has won international acclaim for his work under several pseudonyms, including Max Marlow, Andrew York, and Alan Savage.

Similar books by other authors

Brig of War
(Privateers & Gentlemen)
Walter Jon Williams

Used availability for Christopher Nicole's Pearl of the Orient Omnibus

Kindle Editions

May 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Pearl of the Orient Omnibus
Author(s): Christopher Nicole
Publisher: Endeavour Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU