book cover of The Red Gods
Added by 1 of our members

The Red Gods

(The fourth book in the Russian Saga series)
A novel by

Russia, 1919.

The country is convulsed in a terrible civil war as the newly installed Communist government of Nikolai Lenin and his principal henchman, Leon Trotsky, confront the reactionary 'White' armies commanded by generals loyal to the now dead Tsar Nicholas II.

It is, like most civil wars, a brutal and savage conflict, with atrocities on both sides, with families split by their differing situations and ideals.

At least as eager to regain their ancestral lands as to restore the Tsar, Prince Alexei Bolugayevski of Bolugayen, and his son and heir Colin, are fighting for the Whites in the south.

While on the side of the Reds is Prince Alexei's ex-wife Sonia — now mistress to Trotsky. Into this maelstrom comes another member of the family, Joseph Cromb, brought up in England, and now seeking some trace of his mother the Countess Patricia, supposedly murdered by the Reds in 1918.

But when he joins Alexei and Colin, he is captured and taken by the Reds and tortured until Sonia begs for his life. Inevitably, he beds the beautiful woman, before returning to the Whites with a promise to keep her son alive.

When he returns Alexei instead sends him to Priscilla, putting him in loco parentis of his wife and children and as the White Army are retreating, he is killed.

Meanwhile, Duncan Cromb has also died, leaving his daughter and Joseph’s sister, Jennie, alone. Joseph returns home, with Priscilla but it is not long before Russia catches up with them when they are visited by Gosykin. He invites them back to Russia, but in support of the Reds…

Jennie is tempted and before long, Gosykin has seduced her and convinced her to join him so he can use her a propaganda symbol.

Colin is now living in Paris, with his sister Anna who he is also in love with. He is the only thing in the way of the Red army, and Gosykin’s job is to eliminate him.

Joseph and Priscilla split: Joseph in search of his sister Jennie and Priscilla to Boston, to protect her son. Sonia and Trotsky are on the run and being hunted by the Reds.

What will happen to Anna, left weeping over Colin’s body?

And what will happen to young Alexei, now the Prince Bolugayevski?

Will Jennie ever be rescued, will Joseph find her before losing his own life?

‘The Red Gods’ follows ‘The Red Tide’, ‘The Seeds of Power’ and ‘The Masters’ as the final installment in The Russian Quartet saga, depicting the overturn of Russian Society during the hundred years between 1853 and 1953.

Praise for Christopher Nicole:

‘Well-researched…Evocative descriptions of scenery and edifices, and exact period dialogue’ – Historical Novels Society

‘…told with smooth authenticity’ – Publishers’ Weekly

Christopher Nicole is a prolific British writer of over 200 novels and non-fiction books since 1957. He wrote as Christopher Nicole under several pseudonyms including Peter Grange, Andrew York,Robin Cade, Mark Logan, Christina Nicholson, Alison York, Leslie Arlen, Robin Nicholson, C.R. Nicholson, Daniel Adams,Simon McKay, Caroline Gray and Alan Savage. He also wrote under the penname Max Marlow co-authoring with his wife, fellow author Diana Bachmann. His books include ‘The Command’, ‘The Regiment’ and ‘Sword of Fortune’.

Genre: Historical

Used availability for Christopher Nicole's The Red Gods

Hardback Editions

March 1996 : UK Hardback

Title: The Red Gods (Russian Quartet)
Author(s): Christopher Nicole
ISBN: 0-7278-4972-7 / 978-0-7278-4972-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

February 2015 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: The Red Gods (Russian Saga Book 4)
Author(s): Christopher Nicole
Publisher: Lume Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU