book cover of The Bangalore Detectives Club
Added by 63 members
 

The Bangalore Detectives Club

(2022)
(The first book in the Kaveri and Ramu Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
2023 Anthony Award for Best First Novel (nominee)
2023 CWA Historical Dagger (shortlist)
2023 Lefty Award for Best Debut Mystery Novel (nominee)
2022 Agatha Award for Best First Novel (nominee)

A New York Times Notable Book of the Year

The first in a charming, joyful crime series set in 1920s Bangalore, featuring sari-wearing detective Kaveri and her husband Ramu. Perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith’s The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency.

When clever, headstrong Kaveri moves to Bangalore to marry handsome young doctor Ramu, she's resigned herself to a quiet life.

But that all changes the night of the party at the Century Club, where she escapes to the garden for some peace and quiet—and instead spots an uninvited guest in the shadows. Half an hour later, the party turns into a murder scene.

When a vulnerable woman is connected to the crime, Kaveri becomes determined to save her and launches a private investigation to find the killer, tracing his steps from an illustrious brothel to an Englishman's mansion. She soon finds that sleuthing in a sari isn't as hard as it seems when you have a talent for mathematics, a head for logic, and a doctor for a husband . . .

And she's going to need them all as the case leads her deeper into a hotbed of danger, sedition, and intrigue in Bangalore's darkest alleyways.


Genre: Cozy Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Harini Nagendra's The Bangalore Detectives Club


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors