book cover of The Death Card

The Death Card

(2015)
(A book in the Charlie Raven Adventure series)
A Novella by

 
 
The middle of the eighteenth century.

France and England are at war.

Charlie Raven is part of the crew on board the Pointer, trying to gain control of the seas.

His captain Hector Maxwell is a cruel master.

He commands the sloop Pointer with an iron hand, and scant regard for morals or for men.

And he has an irrational hatred towards Charlie.

The crew have clashed with smugglers from the Isles of Scilly, with deaths on both sides.

And Maxwell is determined to punish the islanders, even though they see themselves as patriotic Englishmen.

How far will Maxwell go in his bid for power?

And can Charlie avoid his iron fist?

Or will he be dealt The Death Card?

'The Death Card' is the thrilling follow up to 'The Devil's Luck'. It will appeal to fans of Bernard Cornwell and Alexander Kent.

Jan Needle has had more than forty books published, including the best-selling 'Death Order'.

Praise for Jan Needle:

'Brilliant. I found myself being drawn back into that twilight world again, despite myself. I was grossly entertained and thrilled... [Jan Needle] is a rare talent.' Jimmy Boyle

'A thundering great novel. What's really amazing is how much he seems to know about so many different things...what more could you want from a thriller? A cracking good read.' Tony Parker, New Statesman & Society

'So topical...[Needle] develops a complex, ingenious plot at breakneck speed and has a sharp underdog's eye.' John McVicar, Time Out

'Compelling, vivid, racy...describes with unnerving prescience just what is going on...it will appeal equally to conspiracy and cock-up theorists.' Guardian

'Recalls the golden age of British investigative reporting: hard-hitting, crusading, alarming prescience.' The Times



Similar books by other authors

thumb
Strike the Red Flag
(Lieutenant Oliver Anson Thriller, book 2)
David McDine
thumb
Dead Man's Island
(Lieutenant Oliver Anson Thriller, book 3)
David McDine
thumb
Kemp: Passage at Arms
(Arrows of Albion, book 2)
Daniel Hall
thumb
Kemp: The Road to Crecy
(Arrows of Albion, book 1)
Daniel Hall

Used availability for Jan Needle's The Death Card

Kindle Editions

August 2015 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Death Card (Charlie Raven Adventure Book 2)
Author(s): Jan Needle
Publisher: Endeavour Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU