book cover of Ellis Island Stories

Ellis Island Stories

(A book in the Ellis Island series)
An omnibus of novels by

Moving and inspiring stories of the immigrant experience are offered up in this eOmni edition comprised of three novels from Joan Lowery Nixon's historical fiction series, Ellis Island. Each story features a unique teenage girl's perspective - one from Russia, one from Ireland, and one from Sweden.

In Land of Hope, Russian immigrant Rebekah Levinsky settles with her family on the Lower East Side of New York and soon realizes that the roads are not paved with gold. In Land of Promise, Irish immigrant Rose Carney arrives in Chicago to a life filled with family responsibilities that impede on her dreams of independence. And in Land of Dreams, Swedish immigrant Kristin Swensen's family lives on a farm in Minnesota, but her parents still cling to the life they'd known in Sweden.

Follow their journeys as Rebekah, Rose, and Kristin - and their families - struggle to find the courage, faith, and resilience they'll need to conquer the odds, find their independence, and realize the American dream.

Genre: Children's Fiction

Used availability for Joan Lowery Nixon's Ellis Island Stories

Hardback Editions

January 2001 : USA Library Binding

Title: Ellis Island Stories
Author(s): Joan Lowery Nixon
ISBN: 0-8368-2809-7 / 978-0-8368-2809-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Gareth Stevens Pub Learning library
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

November 2013 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Ellis Island: Three Novels
Author(s): Joan Lowery Nixon
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU