New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Pope\'s Rhinoceros

The Pope's Rhinoceros

(1996)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards Best Novel (nominee)
In the tradition of Gabriel Garcia Marquez and Umberto Eco, Lawrence Norfolk has created a dizzyingly dense and impressively erudite fantasy of a novel, a vast edifice based around a single, actual historical event: the sinking off the coast of Italy of a Portugese ship bound on a bizarre mission, to deliver an African rhino to Pope Leo X. Norfolk takes his readers on a world tour of the 16th century, from the flophouses of Rome to the rain forest of West Africa, and along the way he piles historical esoterica upon philosophical rumination upon myriad subplots and minor characters. The chains of event and coincidence and the encyclopedic references will exhaust some readers long before the mad quest for the rhino meets its watery end, but Norfolk's baroque talent remains inexhaustible.

    Get it on Google Play

Similar Books by other authors...


Used availability for Lawrence Norfolk's The Pope's Rhinoceros

Hardback Editions

September 1996 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Pope's Rhinoceros: A Novel
Author(s): Lawrence Norfolk
ISBN: 0-517-59532-X / 978-0-517-59532-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harmony
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 1996 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Pope's Rhinoceros
Author(s): Lawrence Norfolk
ISBN: 1-85619-413-2 / 978-1-85619-413-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sinclair-Stevenson Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

April 2003 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Pope's Rhinoceros
Author(s): Lawrence Norfolk
ISBN: 0-8021-3988-4 / 978-0-8021-3988-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Grove Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


October 1997 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Pope's Rhinoceros
Author(s): Lawrence Norfolk
ISBN: 0-8050-5475-8 / 978-0-8050-5475-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Holt Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 1997 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Pope's Rhinoceros
Author(s): Lawrence Norfolk
ISBN: 0-7493-9874-4 / 978-0-7493-9874-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

April 2014 : Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Pope's Rhinoceros
Author(s): Lawrence Norfolk
Publisher: Vintage Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


December 2007 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Pope's Rhinoceros
Author(s): Lawrence Norfolk
Publisher: Grove Press
Availability: Amazon