book cover of Life Sentences
Added by 2 of our members

Life Sentences

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
*THE #3 IRISH BESTSELLER*
*A SINÉAD & RICK 'MUST READS' PICK*

An unforgettable tale of love, abandonment, hunger and redemption, from a rising star of Irish fiction

'O'Callaghan is one of our finest writers . . . and this is his best work yet' JOHN BANVILLE

*****

At just sixteen, Nancy leaves the small island of Cape Clear for the mainland, the only member of her family to survive the effects of the Great Famine. Finding work in a grand house on the edge of Cork City, she is irrepressibly drawn to the charismatic gardener Michael Egan, sparking a love affair and a devastating chain of events that continues to unfold over three generations. Spanning more than a century, Life Sentences is the unforgettable journey of a family hungry for redemption, and determined against all odds to be free.

This sweeping story of one family's fight for survival goes on making the heart lurch long after the final page, and confirms Billy O'Callaghan as one of the finest living Irish writers.

*****

'A lovely, piercing book' SEBASTIAN BARRY

'Stops you in your tracks so you can savour its utter beauty' ANNE GRIFFIN

'Momentous and epic storytelling' BERNARD MACLAVERTY

'So good and true it feels almost magical' SADIE JONES

'Eminently readable . . . My book of the year so far' RYAN TUBRIDY

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"A superb and moving novel . . . O'Callaghan is one of our finest writers, in the tradition of John McGahern and Brian Friel, and this is his best work yet." - John Banville

"One of the most beautiful books of the year." - Sam Blake

"A book that stops you in your tracks so you can savour its utter beauty . . . O'Callaghan is amongst the finest storytellers and wordsmiths in Ireland today." - Anne Griffin

"Billy O'Callaghan's writing is so good and true it feels almost magical; Life Sentences is a beautiful book, a small epic, a joy." - Sadie Jones

"Momentous and epic storytelling." - Bernard MacLaverty

"An absolutely stunning book . . . A truly beautiful read." - Sinéad Moriarty


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Billy O'Callaghan's Life Sentences

Hardback Editions

March 2022 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Life Sentences
Author(s): Billy O'Callaghan
ISBN: 1-56792-732-7 / 978-1-56792-732-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: David R. Godine Publisher
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2021 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Life Sentences: the unforgettable Irish bestseller
Author(s): Billy O'Callaghan
ISBN: 1-78733-244-6 / 978-1-78733-244-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Jonathan Cape
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2022 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Life Sentences: the unforgettable Irish bestseller
Author(s): Billy O'Callaghan
ISBN: 1-5291-1296-6 / 978-1-5291-1296-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Life Sentences: the unforgettable Irish bestseller
Author(s): Billy O'Callaghan
ISBN: 1-78733-245-4 / 978-1-78733-245-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Jonathan Cape
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

March 2022 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Life Sentences
Author(s): Billy O'Callaghan
Publisher: David R. Godine, Publisher
Availability: Amazon   


January 2021 : Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Life Sentences: the unforgettable Irish bestseller
Author(s): Billy O'Callaghan
Publisher: Vintage Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU