book cover of Black Water
Added by 2 of our members

Black Water

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
' A raw, unflinching evocation of a community that's struggling to survive' ... THE TIMES

'Think The Wire, set in Dublin' ... BRIAN McGILLOWAY

'Harsh, tender, steely and authentic' ... LOUISE PHILIPS

'A chilling thriller that reveals the dark and desperate world of Dublin gags in gripping detail' ... SAM BLAKE

I killed the boy...

Jig loves football and his dog, hates school, misses his dead granda and knows to lie low when his ma's blitzed on the vodka.

He's just an ordinary boy on the brutal streets alongside Dublin's Grand Canal. Streets that are ruled by Ghost and his crew. And now Ghost inked, vicious, unprincipled has a job for Jig.

A job that no one can afford to go wrong not the gangs, the police, the locals, and least of all not Jig.

A taut, compelling crime thriller set in Dublin, perfect for fans of Sam Blake and Alex Barclay.

PRAISE FOR BLACK WATER:

'A grimly realistic debut novel . . . a compelling work of darkest noir.' – THE IRISH TIMES

'Violent and gritty, this debut sings with authenticity. I couldn't put it down.' – IRISH EXAMINER

'Dublin Noir at its most raw and dangerously violent... a book with a strong sense of empathy for the dispossessed and not a cheerful one, but a solid achievement in reflecting real life in fiction.' – CRIME TIME

'This is a fast read for all the right reasons and like a writer playing the long game, O'Keeffe leaves plenty up in the damp air.' – RTÉ

'Shocking and compulsive ... O'Keeffe explodes onto the Irish crime fiction scene with style.' – BRIAN MCGILLOWAY, NYT bestselling author of Little Girl Lost

'Set in the parts of Dublin that the tourists are better off not knowing about ... relentlessly depicts a city where the ruthless enlist the desperate to prey on the vulnerable. A terrific debut.' – GENE KERRIGAN, journalist and author of The Rage

'A first class, compelling and gritty debut with real hear. I loved this book.' – ANDREA CARTER, author of The Well of Ice

'O'Keeffe pulls you into the dark underbelly of Dublin city with well-drawn characters, chilling dexterity and unflinching truth' – LOUISE PHILLIPS, author of The Game Changer

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A first class, compelling and gritty debut with real heart. Cormac O’Keeffe is a great writer. he manages to combine gritty realism with real feeling for his characters. I loved this book." - Andrea Carter

"Black Water relentlessly depicts a city where the ruthless enlist the desperate to prey on the vulnerable. A terrific debut." - Gene Kerrigan

"Shocking and compulsive, Black Water offers a grittily realistic insight into the causes and consequences of inner-city drug crime – think The Wire set in Dublin." - Brian McGilloway

"Harsh, tender, steely and authentic..." - Louise Phillips


Similar books by other authors

thumb
It All Falls Down
(Nora Watts, book 2)
Sheena Kamal
thumb
Line Of Sight
(Frank Swann, book 1)
David Whish-Wilson

Used availability for Cormac O'Keeffe's Black Water

Paperback Editions

May 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Black Water
Author(s): Cormac O'Keeffe
ISBN: 1-78530-238-8 / 978-1-78530-238-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Black and White Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Black Water
Author(s): Cormac O'Keeffe
ISBN: 1-78530-162-4 / 978-1-78530-162-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Black and White Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

April 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Black Water
Author(s): Cormac O'Keeffe
Publisher: Black & White Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU