book cover of This Must Be the Place
Added by 12 of our members

This Must Be the Place

(2016)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
Costa Book Awards Best Novel (nominee)
An irresistible love story, an unforgettable family. Bestselling author Maggie O’Farrell captures an extraordinary marriage with insight and laugh-out-loud humor in what Richard Russo calls “her breakout book.” Perfect for readers of Where’d You Go, Bernadette.
 
Daniel Sullivan leads a complicated life. A New Yorker living in the wilds of Ireland, he has children he never sees in California, a father he loathes in Brooklyn, and his wife, Claudette, is a reclusive ex–film star given to pulling a gun on anyone who ventures up their driveway. Together, they have made an idyllic life in the country, but a secret from Daniel’s past threatens to destroy their meticulously constructed and fiercely protected home. Shot through with humor and wisdom, This Must Be the Place is an irresistible love story that crisscrosses continents and time zones as it captures an extraordinary marriage, and an unforgettable family, with wit and deep affection.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"Inventive, moving and hilarious. I loved it." - Rachel Joyce


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Standing in the Rainbow
(Elmwood Springs, book 2)
Fannie Flagg

Used availability for Maggie O'Farrell's This Must Be the Place

Hardback Editions

July 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: This Must Be the Place: A novel
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
ISBN: 0-385-34942-4 / 978-0-385-34942-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Knopf
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


May 2016 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: This Must Be the Place
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
ISBN: 0-7553-5880-5 / 978-0-7553-5880-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: This Must Be the Place
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
ISBN: 0-7553-5881-3 / 978-0-7553-5881-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: This Must Be the Place (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
ISBN: 0-345-80472-4 / 978-0-345-80472-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: This Must Be the Place: Costa Award Shortlisted 2016
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
ISBN: 1-4722-4377-3 / 978-1-4722-4377-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: This Must Be the Place
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
ISBN: 0-7553-5883-X / 978-0-7553-5883-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

June 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: This Must Be the Place: Booktrack Edition
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon   


June 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: This Must Be the Place: Booktrack Edition
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: This Must Be the Place: Booktrack Edition
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: This Must Be the Place
Author(s): Maggie OFarrell, Maggie O'Farrell
ISBN: 1-66445-274-5 / 978-1-66445-274-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Recorded Books, Inc. and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


July 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: This Must Be the Place
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


May 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: This Must Be the Place
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   


May 2016 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: This Must Be the Place
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: This Must Be the Place
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2016 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: This Must Be the Place: A novel (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   


May 2016 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: This Must Be the Place
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU