New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

This Must Be the Place

(2016)
A novel by

 
Awards
Costa Book Awards Best Novel (nominee)
An irresistible love story, an unforgettable family. Best-selling author Maggie O'Farrell captures an extraordinary marriage with insight and laugh-out-loud humor in what Richard Russo calls "her breakout book." Perfect for readers of Where'd You Go, Bernadette.

Meet Daniel Sullivan, a man with a complicated life. A New Yorker living in the wilds of Ireland, he has children he never sees in California, a father he loathes in Brooklyn, and a wife, Claudette, who is a reclusive ex - film star given to pulling a gun on anyone who ventures up their driveway. Claudette was once the most glamorous and infamous woman in cinema before she staged her own disappearance and retreated to blissful seclusion in an Irish farmhouse.

But the life Daniel and Claudette have so carefully constructed is about to be disrupted by an unexpected discovery about a woman Daniel lost touch with twenty years ago. This revelation will send him off-course, far away from wife, children, and home. Will his love for Claudette be enough to bring him back?

"O'Farrell's prose manages to be both intimate and expansive and keenly perceptive in its insights about the complexities of marriage. Beautiful and bittersweet, THIS MUST BE THE PLACE will make O'Farrell's longtime fans swoon while prompting new readers to wonder why they've only just discovered her."
--BookPage

"I have been a huge fan of Maggie O'Farrell's novels for years. She writes with tremendous clarity and poise and in THIS MUST BE THE PLACE you are invested in what happens to Daniel and Claudette from the moment you meet them. A joy to read."
--Jane Green

"Inventive, moving, and hilarious. I loved it."
- Rachel Joyce, best-selling author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

From the Hardcover edition.

Genre: Literary Fiction
 
Similar Books by other authors...


At the Edge of the Orchard
Tracy Chevalier

Commonwealth
Ann Patchett

Vinegar Girl
(Hogarth Shakespeare)

Anne Tyler

You Will Know Me
Megan Abbott
 
Used availability for Maggie O'Farrell's This Must Be the Place


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

July 2016 : USA Hardback
thumbTitle: This Must Be the Place: A novel
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
ISBN: 0-385-34942-4 / 978-0-385-34942-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Knopf
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

May 2016 : UK Hardback
thumbTitle: This Must Be the Place
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
ISBN: 0-7553-5880-5 / 978-0-7553-5880-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

May 2017 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: This Must Be the Place (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
ISBN: 0-345-80472-4 / 978-0-345-80472-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

April 2017 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: This Must Be the Place: Costa Award Shortlisted 2016
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
ISBN: 0-7553-5881-3 / 978-0-7553-5881-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

November 2016 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: This Must Be the Place: Costa Award Shortlisted 2016
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
ISBN: 1-4722-4377-3 / 978-1-4722-4377-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

May 2016 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: This Must Be the Place
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
ISBN: 0-7553-5883-X / 978-0-7553-5883-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

July 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: This Must Be the Place
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   

May 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: This Must Be the Place
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   

May 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumbTitle: This Must Be the Place
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

July 2016 : USA Kindle edition
thumbTitle: This Must Be the Place: A novel
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   

May 2016 : UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: This Must Be the Place
Author(s): Maggie O'Farrell
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon UK   


Search for