Maggie O'Farrell's picture

Maggie O'Farrell

UK flag (b.1972)

Maggie O'Farrell was born in Northern Ireland in 1972. Her debut novel, After You'd Gone, was published to international acclaim, and won a Betty Trask Award.

Genres: Literary Fiction, Historical, Children's Fiction
New and upcoming books
   After You'd Gone (2000)
   My Lover's Lover (2002)
   The Distance Between Us (2004)
   The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox (2006)
   The Hand That First Held Mine (2010)
   Instructions for a Heatwave (2013)
   This Must Be the Place (2016)
   Hamnet (2020)
     aka Hamnet & Judith
   The Marriage Portrait (2022)
Chapter Books
thumbthumbno image available
Non fiction
   I Am, I Am, I Am (2017)
Omnibus editions
   The Best Contemporary Women's Fiction (2010) (with others)
Maggie O'Farrell recommends
North Woods (2023)
Daniel Mason
"North Woods is a monumental achievement of polyphony and humanity. Relating the narrative of an entire country via a single plot of land, it sweeps the reader through hundreds of years and an array of protagonists with a deft, heartbreaking, idiosyncratic zeal. I loved it."
Loot (2023)
Tania James
"Loot held me spellbound from the first page. This is an expertly-plotted, deeply affecting novel about war, displacement, emigration, and an elusive mechanical tiger."
In Memoriam (2023)
Alice Winn
"Assured, affecting and moving. Alice Winn has written a devastating love story between two young men . . . Gaunt and Ellwood will live in your mind long after you've closed the final pages."

More recommendations 

Anthologies containing stories by Maggie O'Farrell
Why Willows Weep (2011)
Contemporary Tales from the Woods
edited by
Tracy Chevalier and Simon Prosser

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors