book cover of Death of an Innocent

Death of an Innocent

(A book in the Richard and Amelia Patton series)
A novel by

Richard Patton, an ex-Detective Inspector is enjoying early retirement.

He is asked by his wife's old college friend, a successful novelist, to unofficially investigate a suspected burglary at her house overlooking the Norfolk Broads.

Although the place is full of treasures, apparently there has been nothing stolen; no sign of fingerprints or footprints, just a broken roof tile and, Raffles-like, three telltale bags of Earl Grey tea.

Yet Patton, digging deeper, soon discovers evidence of an apparent murder, a young woman's drowning which has been officially accepted as accidental.

At this point, Richard finds his loyalties severely strained, and as his investigation progresses, he unearths a background of family strife that could have been enough to provoke violence.

But it is still unclear how the dead young woman could have been the victim.

As he starts to dig into the case, Richards tries to work out the motive for the crime, but he soon realises he faces conflicting loyalties.

Reluctantly he withdraws, only to learn that another death has occurred.

Realizing he might have prevented this second fatality, he returns to a final, angry and dramatic interrogation, which ultimately reveals the truth.

Death of an Innocent is a gripping crime thriller from a master story-teller.

Praise for Roger Ormerod

'Omerod can be relied upon to come up with the starting goods.' Sunday Times

'Roger Ormerod is an accomplished writer of traditional murder mysteries who has earned himself not only popular success but also the respect and admiration of his colleagues...This is a strongly characterised, intellectually teasing story with a nail-biting climax, which any crime fiction buff ought to relish.' James Melville, Hampstead & Highgate Express.

Roger Ormerod
is the author of over twenty novels. He was born in 1920 and left school at seventeen to join the Civil Service in which he spent most of his working life. He retired in 1970 and later worked as a postman and in the production control department of a heavy industry factory. He lives in Wolverhampton. His other novels include A Shot At Nothing, Third Time Fatal, The Key to the Case and The Night She Died.

Genre: Mystery

Used availability for Roger Ormerod's Death of an Innocent

Hardback Editions

April 1992 : USA Hardback

Title: Death of an Innocent
Author(s): Roger Ormerod
ISBN: 0-517-08389-2 / 978-0-517-08389-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Value Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

August 1990 : USA Hardback

Title: Death of an Innocent
Author(s): Roger Ormerod
ISBN: 0-312-04297-3 / 978-0-312-04297-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: St Martins Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

October 1989 : UK Hardback

Title: Death of an Innocent
Author(s): Roger Ormerod
ISBN: 0-09-469470-2 / 978-0-09-469470-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Constable
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

June 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Death of an Innocent (An Inspector Patton Mystery Book 6)
Author(s): Roger Ormerod
Publisher: Lume Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA